The New York Law Journal has chosen 16 outstanding lawyers to receive its Lifetime Achievement Award. Our honorees represent women and men who over the course of their varied careers have made a profound impact on the law and New York's legal community.

The accomplishments of the attorneys listed below will be featured in an Oct. 30 anniversary issue devoted to the Law Journal's 125-year history and at a celebration dinner on Nov. 4.

  • Floyd Abrams, Cahill Gordon & Reindel
  • Helaine Barnett, Chair, Chief Judge’s Task Force to Expand Access to Civil Legal Services
  • Richard Bartlett, Bartlett, Pontiff, Stewart & Rhodes (retired)
  • Sheila Birnbaum, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan
  • H. Rodgin Cohen, Sullivan & Cromwell
  • Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick, Greenberg Traurig
  • Mario Cuomo, Willkie Farr & Gallagher
  • Betty Weinberg Ellerin, Alston & Bird
  • John Feerick, Fordham University School of Law
  • Robert Fiske, Davis Polk & Wardwell
  • Samuel Green, Appellate Division, Fourth Department (retired)
  • Judith Kaye, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
  • Milton Mollen, Herrick, Feinstein
  • Robert Morgenthau, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
  • George Bundy Smith, JAMS
  • Jack Weinstein, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York