The Burton Foundation, a nonprofit academic organization, has announced the 2012 winners of its Awards for Legal Achievement.

The following New York attorneys, law firms and law students were among those honored yesterday at the Library of Congress, with retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens as guest speaker.

Legal Writing Awards—Law Firm

• Bradley Bondi, a partner at Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft, SEC Launches FCPA Probe of Financial Services Industry’s Interactions With Sovereign Wealth Funds, written with Washington, D.C., partner Bret Campbell and Michael Horowitz, a former Cadwalader partner who was recently confirmed as inspector general of the U.S. Department of Justice.

• DLA Piper partners Claudia Salomon and James Duffy IV, Enforcement Begins When the Arbitration Clause Is Drafted.

• Partner Peter Jarvis and associate Katie Lachter, Hinshaw & Culbertson, Civility: The Ultimate Legal Weapon?

• Peter Pope, a partner at Jenner & Block, Prosecutorial Investigation Standards: Guidance Through the Thorny Thicket That Precedes Charging.

• Linklaters senior counsel Jean-Philipe Brisson, partner Stanford Renas and former associate Daniel Firger, California’s Cap-and-Trade Regulations: Design Elements and Outstanding Issues.

• David Freeman, a partner at Paul Hastings, co-author, New ASTM Standard May Serve as Safe Harbor for Emerging Building Energy Labeling, Transactional Disclosure, and Benchmarking Regulations, with Miller Canfield senior counsel Mark Bennett in Michigan and Anthony Buonicore of Building Energy Performance Assessment News in Connecticut.

• Paul Hastings partner Richard Farley, A Loan by Any Other Name.

• Partner Scott Landau and associate Bradley Benedict of Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, Maintaining Employee Privacy Across Jurisdictions.

• Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom partners George Zimmerman and Mark McDermott, Chapter 11 Litigation After ‘Stern v. Marshall.’

• David Hariton, a partner at Sullivan & Cromwell, The Frame Game: How Defining the ‘Transaction’ Decides the Case.

• Weil, Gotshal & Manges partner Glenn West, who wrote Protecting the Integrity of the Entity-Specific Contract: The “No Recourse Against Others” Clause—Missing or Ineffective Boilerplate?, with Dallas associate Natalie Smeltzer.

Legal Writing Awards—Law School

• Zachary Kuperman, Brooklyn Law School, Cutting the Baby in Half: An Economic Critique of Indivisible Resource Partition.

• Michelle Diamond, Columbia Law School, Legal Triage for Health Reform: The Conflict Between the ACA and EMTALA.

• Anthony Piccirillo, Fordham University School of Law, Sisyphus Meets Icarus: The Jurisdictional and Comity Limits of Post-Satisfaction Anti-Foreign-Suit Injunctions.

ALA Awards—Association of Legal Administrators

• Bailey Cavalieri, Best Law Firm Encyclopedic Handbook.

• Simpson Thacher & Bartlett, Outstanding Authoritative Book by a Partner in a Law Firm.

• Morrison & Foerster, Best Law Firm Advertisement.

• Kaye Scholer, Best Law Firm Compendium.

• Davis Wright Tremaine, Best Law Firm Newsletter.

• Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft, Best Law Firm Profile.

• Fulbright & Jaworski, Best Law Firm Publication.

Legends in Law

• Les Parrette, senior vice president, general counsel and compliance officer, Novelis.

• Amy Schulman, executive vice president and general counsel, Pfizer.

• Marschall Smith, senior vice president of legal affairs and general counsel, 3M Company.

• Maria Pasquale, senior vice president, legal and deputy general counsel, Celgene Corporation.

• James Strother, executive vice president and general counsel, Wells Fargo & Company.

• Susan Blount, senior vice president and general counsel, Prudential Financial.

Public Service Award

• Eric Fygi, deputy general counsel, U.S. Department of Energy.

Public Interest Award

Janet Dhillon, executive vice president, general counsel and secretary, J.C. Penney Corporation.