We are honored to announce our finalists for the Best Law Firm of the Year and Attorney of the Year awards. These special firms and individuals will be honored at our December 5 gala in New York, where the winners of these awards and our other American Lawyer Industry Awards will be announced.

The Best Law Firm of the Year finalists were judged based on several criteria including exceptional client work across a variety of practice areas along with innovation in the business of law, whether it be on firm management, diversity initiatives and/or client service. The Attorney of the Year finalists made a huge impact on the profession in some of the most highly publicized areas in the legal profession over the past two years. They started important conversations, brought key issues to light and made noticeable change to how the profession operates.

Congratulations to our finalists for their exceptional work and dedication! Finalists are listed in alphabetical order.

Best Law Firm of the Year Award Finalists:

Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton


Cravath, Swaine & Moore

Davis Polk & Wardwell

Hogan Lovells

Kirkland & Ellis

Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison


Attorney of the Year Finalists

Bill Deckelman; DXC Technology; For his work in transforming DXC’s legal department and propelling the discussion around innovative ways for law departments, alternative legal services providers and law firms to rethink traditional legal service lines.

David Sanford; Sanford Heisler Sharp; For his work in bringing cases and discussing the issues surrounding gender equality in law firms.

Grace Speights; Morgan, Lewis & Bockius; For her work investigating companies in the wake of the #MeToo movement in an effort to eliminate workplace harassment and misconduct.