We are proud to announce the finalists for The American Lawyer Industry Awards, a newly revamped set of recognitions meant to honor the exceptional work that goes on across the entire legal services delivery spectrum and the increasing interconnectedness among members of that community.

The efforts demonstrated in the submissions were outstanding and gave us a new appreciation for the caliber of work and innovation happening in the legal industry. We learned so much about all of the hundreds of entrants and had to make very difficult decisions in narrowing down to our finalists. Our finalists will all be celebrated at our December 5 gala in New York, where we will also announce the overall winners in each of these categories.

The finalists are listed in alphabetical order. All of these finalists are in addition to the winners and finalists previously announced for our Litigation Departments of the Year, Litigators of the Year , The A-List, Corporate Counsel’s Best Legal Departments and our Lifetime Achievement and Law Firm Distinguished Leader Awards, all of which will be celebrated at the December dinner. Look for additional announcements this week with the finalists for some of our biggest awards: Best Law Firm of the Year, Attorney of the Year and our Global Legal Awards!

Congratulations to the finalists and all those who entered for moving the profession forward!

Legal Services Innovation Award

Baker McKenzie

Davis Wright Tremaine

Littler Mendelson

Mayer Brown

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe

Reed Smith

Thompson Hine


Best Use of Technology

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

Kirkland & Ellis


Morgan, Lewis & Bockius

Norton Rose Fulbright

Reed Smith

Seyfarth Shaw


Best Alternative Legal Services Provider

Winner: UnitedLex


Best Client/Law Firm Team

Akin Gump/Trinity Industries Inc.

Ballard Spahr/Hertz Corporation

Morgan Lewis/Aramark

Quarles & Brady/MillerCoors LLC

Seyfarth Shaw/7-Eleven

Sullivan & Cromwell/Volkswagen AG


Best Law Firm Business Team

Hogan Lovells

Latham & Watkins

Morgan Lewis


Reed Smith


Best Mentor: In-House Legal Department

Apple’s Jim Fowler

Eisai’s Donna Meuth

King Street Capital’s Randolph Stuzin


Best Mentor: Law Firm

Cooley’s Bethany Lobo

Hinshaw & Culbertson’s Joshua Vincent

Holland & Knight’s Janis Schiff

Jones Day’s Yvette McGee Brown

Latham & Watkins’ Nadia Sager

Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough’s Wade Malone

Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison’s Kenneth Schneider

Sullivan & Cromwell’s Sergio Galvis


National Boutique/Specialty Litigation Department of the Year

Eimer Stahl

Goldman Ismail Tomaselli Brennan & Baum

Keker, Van Nest & Peters

McKool Smith

Molo Lamken


Wheeler Trigg O’Donnell


Regional Litigation Departments of the Year

California: Cooley; Covington & Burling; Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher; Morrison & Foerster; O’Melveny & Myers; Sidley Austin

Georgia: Greenberg Traurig; King & Spalding

Florida: Carlton Fields; Holland & Knight

New Jersey: Blank Rome; Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin

Pennsylvania: Akin Gump; Dechert; Greenberg Traurig; Morgan Lewis

Texas: Gibson Dunn; Morgan Lewis; Susman Godfrey; Vinson & Elkins


Diversity Champion Winner

White & Case


Pro Bono Champion Winner

Jenner & Block