It is universally acknowledged that New York has an overly complex, unduly costly and unnecessarily inefficient court structure.

Despite being called the Unified Court System, it is anything but. There are 11 different trial courts and multiple levels of appellate courts, far more than any other state in the nation. In fact, California, a state with approximately double the population of New York, has only one trial level court.

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]