Greg Coleman
Greg Coleman (Melanie Bell)

As the leader of the third-largest bar association in the nation, Florida Bar president Greg Coleman has appointed 47 new committee chairs.

Of the new chairs, 16 are from South Florida.

Among the new appointees are Third District Court of Appeal Judge Vance Edwin Salter, who will co-chair the pro bono legal services committee; Michael Napoleone of Richman Greer in West Palm Beach, who will chair the constitutional judiciary committee; and Miami-Dade Assistant County Attorney Ileana Cruz, who will chair the voluntary bar liaison committee.

Other South Florida appointments include:

- Barry Balmuth, a North Palm Beach solo attorney, chair of the eminent domain committee.

- Kalinthia Dillard, an attorney with the Palm Beach County School Board, chair of the education law committee.

- Michael Lax, a Miami solo attorney, chair of the grievance mediation and fee arbitration committee.

- Michael Bloom, a Hollywood solo attorney, chair of the continuing legal education committee.

- Pearl Goldman, a law professor at Nova Southeastern University, chair of the Florida Bar Journal and news editorial board.

- Michael Band of the Band Law Firm in Miami, chair of the judicial nominating procedures committee.

- Maja Holman, a Pompano Beach solo attorney, chair of the student education and admissions to the bar committee.

- Timothy Moore of Shook, Hardy & Bacon in Miami, chair of the code and rules of evidence committee.

- Mark Touby of Touby, Chait & Sicking in Coral Gables, chair of the voluntary bar liaison committee.

- Jeffrey Adelman of Adelman & Adelman in Coral Springs, chair of the clients’ security fund committee.

- Tequisha Myles, supervising attorney with the Legal Aid Society of Palm Beach, chair of the consumer protection law committee.

- Tamara Gray of the Miami-Dade public defender’s office, chair of the legal needs of children committee.

Certification committee chairs also were appointed.