Broward County Court Administrative Judge Robert W. Lee. Photo: Melanie Bell/ALM

Broward County Court Administrative Judge Robert W. Lee has drawn competition in the Aug. 28 primary. His rival: traffic ticket attorney Stephen Leslie Lustig.

Lee is among several county court judges across South Florida who will have challengers in the upcoming election.

Two other Broward incumbents, County Court Judges Michael Davis and Robert Diaz, must campaign to keep their seats. Davis faces litigator Rhoda Sokoloff, while Diaz’s challenger is defense lawyer Michael John Heise.

Broward County Court Judges Olga Levine, Kathleen Mary McHugh, Louis H. Schiff, Melinda Kirsch Brown, Ginger Lerner-Wren, Jill K. Levy, Jennifer Wigand Hilal, Arlene Simon Backman and Terri-Ann Miller won their seats when no other candidates qualified to run against them by Friday’s deadline.

In Group 9, three candidates are running to replace Broward County Court Judge Sharon Zeller. Assistant Public Defender Tanner Channing Demmery, mediator Leonore M. Greller and litigator Corey Amanda Cawthon filed for the same open seat.

In Miami-Dade County, insurance litigator Betsy Alvarez-Zane and Woodward & Reizenstein partner Jacqueline Michelle Woodward became the newest county court judges after no opponents remained by the deadline.

Miami-Dade County Court Judge Maria De Fatima Ortiz faced a challenger who later withdrew, leaving her unopposed and re-elected. The judge stipulated on filing deadline day to ethics violations for free hotel stays she shared with her husband, who faces public corruption charges.

Incumbent Miami-Dade County Court Judges Michelle Alvarez Barakat, Gina Beovides, Alex Bokor, Tanya Brinkley, Dawn Denaro, Robin Faber, Gloria Gonzalez-Meyer, Diana Gonzalez-Whyte, Larry King, Myriam Lehr, Steven Leifman, Patricia Marino-Pedraza, Luise Martin, Samuel Slom, Linda Stein and Andrea Wolfson were re-elected without opposition.

Civil rights lawyer Rosy Aponte is challenging Assistant State Attorney Kristy M. Nunez to replace retiring County Court Judge Mary Jo Francis. Lizzet Martinez and Chris Pracitto will vie to replace retiring County Court Judge Caryn Canner Schwartz. Milena Abreu and Mike Mirabal are candidates for retiring Judge Joseph Davis Jr.’s seat; while Olanike Adebayo and Eleane Sosa-Bruzon will face off to replace Judge Teretha Lundy; and Michael Barket and Elena Ortega-Tauler qualified to run for the seat held by outgoing Judge Don Cohn.

In Palm Beach County, five candidates are vying for the county court seat in Group 4: Palm Beach Assistant Public Defender Ashley Zuckerman, Broward Assistant Public Defender Gabriel Ermine, criminal defense attorney Allen “Antonio” Ambrosino, Boca Raton litigator Lloyd Comiter and foreclosure defense lawyer Allegra Fung.

A field of five candidates whittled to three in Group 5 after two withdrew, leaving personal injury lawyer Richard Llerena, Magistrate Sara Alijewicz and condominium and homeowner association attorney Jeremy Zubkoff to compete for the judgeship.

Palm Beach County Court Judges Edward Garrison, Frank Castor, Sherri Collins, Sandra Bosso-Pardo, Leonard Hanser and Ted Booras ran unopposed and were automatically re-elected.

On the circuit court side, Miami-Dade Judge David Miller and Broward Judges Michael Usan and Ernest Kollra have challengers.