Attorney of the Year Josh Koskoff gets a hug from his wife, Darcy, after receiving the Connecticut Law Tribune's 2017 award for Attorney of the Year.
Attorney of the Year Josh Koskoff gets a hug from his wife, Darcy, after receiving the Connecticut Law Tribune’s 2017 award for Attorney of the Year. (Credit: ALM)

Nearly 200 members of Connecticut’s legal community were out in downtown Hartford Tuesday night to receive awards for their work during the past year and to celebrate the field’s rising stars, living legends and winning teams.

Josh Koskoff, center, receives the 2017 Attorney of the Year award from Connecticut Law Tribune Bureau Chief Michael Marciano, left, and reporter Robert Storace.

Topping off the evening, as always, was the naming of the annual Attorney of the Year. For 2017, the award went to Josh Koskoff of Bridgeport’s Koskoff Koskoff & Bieder, counsel for Newtown families of victims of the 2012 Sandy Hook school massacre. Koskoff was greeted by cheers from colleagues from around the state.

From left, Verill Dana attorney Andy Nevas joined Attorney of the Year Josh Koskoff and Wes Horton of Horton, Dowd Bartschi & Levesque Tuesday night to celebrate Koskoff’s Attorney of the Year award, along with the runners up — Andy’s father, Judge Alan Nevas, and Horton partner Dana Hrelic.

Also receiving heavy applause were this year’s distinguished leaders, former state Supreme Court Judge Peter Zarella, who received a prolonged standing ovation for his work as an associate justice from 2001 to 2016; and Hartford’s Morris “Moe” Banks, who was saluted for his decades of work as an attorney, lecturer and mentor to junior attorneys.

From left, Darcy Koskoff, Jeff Wisner, Josh Koskoff and Emily Rock celebrated Josh Koskoff’s award for the Connecticut Law Tribune 2017 Attorney of the Year at the Connecticut Legal Awards Tuesday night in Hartford.

Nearly all of this year’s New Leaders in the Law were in attendance for Tuesday’s celebration, and representatives from winning litigation and legal departments were on hand to receive awards from Tribune bureau chief Michael Marciano, reporter Robert Storace and New Jersey Law Journal Bureau Chief David Gialanella.

Congratulations go out to all honorees, listed below

Attorney of the Year
Josh Koskoff

Attorney of the Year Finalists
Dana Hrelic, Judge Alan Nevas

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Justice Peter Zarella and Morris Banks

Litigation Departments of the Year
General Litigation: Wiggin and Dana
Appellate Litigation: Murtha Cullina
Family Law—Midsized Firm: Pullman & Comley
Family Law—Small Firm: Broder & Orland
In-House Legal Departments: Connecticut Office of the Treasurer’s Legal Unit and Harman International of Stamford
GC Impact Award of the Year: Scott Slifka, Lego Systems Inc.

Distinguished Leaders
Lewis Chimes, Emanuele Cicchiello, Burt Cohen, Edwin Colon, Victoria de Toledo, Timothy A. Diemand, Kevin Kane, Katie Mesner-Hage, Judge James Tancredi
U.S. Bankruptcy Court, John D. Tower

New Leaders In The Law
Tejas Bhatt, Michael Ceccorulli, Stephen Clancy, Graham Coates, Benjamin Daniels, Pamela Del Negro, Chris DeMattie, Kathleen Dion, Matthew Dolan, Michael Dolan, Tadhg Dooley, Robyn Drucker, Chrysten Dufour, Tara Dugo, Alicia Hayter, Abigail Miranda, Isaias Pedraza, Michael Reilly, Amber Sarno, Meghan Sweeney, Justin Theriault, Kelly Trahan, Joshua Weinshank, Kristen Wolf. Gwen Zittoun