Thank you for sharing!

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.
March 1991 Police beating of Rodney King caught on videotape. July 1991 Christopher Commission, headed by O’Melveny & Myers partner Warren Christopher, issues report urging Police Commission to take a more active and critical role overseeing the LAPD; recommends creation of inspector general position to monitor department. 1993 Mayor Richard Riordan elected, replacing Tom Bradley. May 1996 Police Commission consultant issues “Five Year Report” on status of Christopher Commission reforms. Finds Police Commission still lacks adequate resources, including a computer system to analyze police data. July 1996 Heller Ehrman partner Raymond Fisher appointed president of Police Commission. Local prosecutor Katherine Mader becomes first inspector general. July 1997 Latham partner Edith Perez elevated to Police Commission president after Fisher takes Justice Department job. August 1997 Bernard Parks sworn in as police chief, succeeding Willie Williams. November 1997 Inspector General Mader issues critical report on “high-risk” officers in LAPD. August 19, 1998 Police Commission president Perez holds press conference to announce that the LAPD has implemented 80 percent of the Christopher Commission reforms. Declares it a “proud day” for the LAPD. August 25, 1998 Chief Parks tells Police Commission that officer Raphael Perez has been arrested for stealing cocaine from a police storage room. November 1998 Inspector General Katherine Mader resigns. May 1999 Assistant U.S. attorney Jeffrey Eglash becomes second inspector general. July 1999 Orrick partner Gerald Chaleff replaces Latham’s Perez as president of Police Commission. September 1999 Indicted ex-cop Raphael Perez starts offering information about widespread police corruption as part of a plea bargain. April 2000 Police Commission announces formation of independent panel to examine the police department. Blue-ribbon group includes partners from most of L.A.’s major firms. CURRENT COMMISSIONERS Gerald Chaleff (President) — Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe Dean Hansell — Partner, LeBoeuf, Lamb, Green, & MacRae T. Warren Jackson — Vice president and assistant general counsel, Hughes Electronics Corporation Herbert Boeckmann II — Chairman and CEO, Galpin Motors, Inc., a car dealership Raquelle de la Rocha — Of counsel, Ballard, Rosenberg & Golper

This content has been archived. It is available exclusively through our partner LexisNexis®.

To view this content, please continue to Lexis Advance®.

Not a Lexis Advance® Subscriber? Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® is now the exclusive third party online distributor of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® customers will be able to access and use ALM's content by subscribing to the LexisNexis® services via Lexis Advance®. This includes content from the National Law Journal®, The American Lawyer®, Law Technology News®, The New York Law Journal® and Corporate Counsel®, as well as ALM's other newspapers, directories, legal treatises, published and unpublished court opinions, and other sources of legal information.

ALM's content plays a significant role in your work and research, and now through this alliance LexisNexis® will bring you access to an even more comprehensive collection of legal content.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]


ALM Legal Publication Newsletters

Sign Up Today and Never Miss Another Story.

As part of your digital membership, you can sign up for an unlimited number of a wide range of complimentary newsletters. Visit your My Account page to make your selections. Get the timely legal news and critical analysis you cannot afford to miss. Tailored just for you. In your inbox. Every day.

Copyright © 2020 ALM Media Properties, LLC. All Rights Reserved.