New Positions

. . . Andrew Stubblefield has joined Coats Rose Yale Ryman & Lee in Dallas as an associate with the firm’s construction/surety and litigation practice areas.

. . . Michael A. Rahman has joined Munck Wilson Mandala in Dallas as senior counsel in the IP department.

. . . Jeffery F. Nadalo has joined Buc-ee’s Ltd. in Lake Jackson as the general counsel.

. . . Valeri C. Williams and James Sears Bryant have joined Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker in Dallas as of counsel.

. . . Dennis P. Duffy has joined Baker Hostetler’s employment and labor group in Houston as a partner.

. . . Jesse Ancira has been promoted to chief of staff by Texas House of Representatives Speaker Joe Straus.

. . . Eduardo “Eddy” Espinosa and Michael Napoli have joined Cox Smith Matthews’ corporate and litigation practices in Dallas as shareholders.


. . . Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta has appointed Walter Huffman, Texas Tech University School of Law dean emeritus and current Texas Tech law professor, to the Defense Legal Policy Board. Huffman also will co-chair the board subcommittee examining military justice in combat zones. Texas Tech law professor and director of the Center for Military Law and Policy Richard Rosen was appointed to the military justice subcommittee.


. . . The Community Justice Program, a joint project between Texas RioGrande Legal Aid and the San Antonio Bar Association, has been awarded the 2012 Harrison Tweed Award by the American Bar Association Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defendants and the National Legal Aid and Defender Association.

. . . The following have received 2012 Deborah G. Hankinson Access to Justice Awards from the Texas Access to Justice Commission: Austin Bar Association — large city bar association; Austin Young Lawyers Association — large city Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) affiliate; Midland County Bar Association — small city bar association; and Midland County Young Lawyers Association — small city TYLA affiliate. The following have received Pro Bono Service Awards from the Texas Access to Justice Commission: El Paso Bar Association, the Family Law Section of the State Bar of Texas and the Houston Bar Foundation.

. . . State Bar of Texas President Buck Files of Tyler has received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Criminal Justice Section of the State Bar.


. . . David V. Wilson II, a shareholder in Hays, McConn, Rice & Pickering in Houston, has joined the South Texas College of Law Alumni Association board of directors for 2012-2013.

. . . Nathan Pearman, an associate with Bickel & Brewer in Dallas, has been named to the Best LGBT Lawyers Under 40 Class of 2012 by the National LGBT Bar Association.

. . . Mary Alice McLarty, of McLarty Pope in Dallas, was announced as the 2012-2013 president of the American Association for Justice. Lisa Blue Baron, of Baron & Blue in Dallas, was named vice president.

. . . Richard B. Phillips Jr., a partner in Thompson & Knight in Dallas, has been named to the board of trustees for the Dallas Wind Symphony.

New Offices

. . . San Antonio-based Langley & Banack has acquired the business of Butler Attorneys at Law in Karnes City and has opened a new office in Castroville. Richard M. Butler and Clinton M. Butler have become equity shareholders in Langley & Banack. The Karnes County office is located at 114 N. Panna Maria Ave., Karnes City 78118; phone (830) 780-2700. Shareholder Lucretia Marmor leads the Castroville office located at 1103 Fiorella St., Castroville 78009; phone (830) 538-6406.

To submit “Newsmakers,” email

Related stories