Thank you for sharing!

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.
NEW POSITIONS . . . The following have become shareholders in Cox Smith Matthews: in McAllen, Raymond A. Cowley, labor and employment; in Austin, David G. Henry, intellectual property; and in San Antonio, William M. Fisher, tax, Jeffrey C. Gifford, corporate and securities, Darrell R. Jones, energy and natural resources, and Megan P. Lindberg, labor and employment. . . . David R. Keyes has joined the banking and credit transactions section of Winstead in Houston as a shareholder. . . . Elizabeth H. Corey has joined the financial institutions practice group at Jenkens & Gilchrist in Dallas as of counsel. . . . Ed Coultas has become managing partner of Hughes & Luce. The firm has also announced the following new partners in its Dallas office: Thomas Paxton, bankruptcy section, Gregory Perrone, intellectual property section, and Bart Wulff, litigation section. Rodney C. Villazor has joined the firm as an associate in the litigation section. Dwight “Ike” Shupe and Paul Denney have transferred to the Fort Worth office from the Dallas office. . . . Margaret Keliher has joined Locke Liddell & Sapp as of counsel in the public law section. She will be based in Dallas and work out of the Austin office during legislative sessions. . . . Baker & Hostetler has announced the following new partners in the business group in Houston: W. John English Jr., mergers and acquisitions and environmental matters; Allyson Hancock Kinzel, health care; and Sameer V. Mohan, mergers and acquisitions and international business transactions. . . . Four lawyers have joined Fulbright & Jaworski’s global tax practice: partners Andrius Kontrimas and Patrick O’Daniel, senior counsel Lisa Rossmiller and counsel Donna Harris. Kontrimas, Harris and Rossmiller will reside in the firm’s Houston office. O’Daniel will be in Austin. . . . Jones Day has named Nancy MacKimm as partner in charge of its Houston office. MacKimm’s practice focuses on toxic-tort and environmental litigation. . . . McGlinchey Stafford has announced three new partners in its Houston office: Claude B. Anello, commercial real estate, commercial finance and business law; Dwight W. Scott Jr., health care; and S. David Smith, commercial litigation including banking and consumer financial services. APPOINTMENTS . . . Robert L. Collins, a South Padre Island and Gonzales County solo, is the new city attorney for the city of Port Isabel. . . . Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. of the U.S. Supreme Court has appointed David J. Beck to a three-year term on the Judicial Conference Standing Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure. Beck is the managing partner of Beck, Redden & Secrest in Houston. AWARDS . . . Rhonda Hunter of Dallas has received the Dallas Bar Association’s Martin Luther King Jr. Justice Award, which honors a lawyer whose life and practice upholds King’s principles. . . . The Houston Bar Foundation has announced its annual awards for pro bono legal service, dispute resolution and legal writing. Honors for contributions to the Houston Volunteer Lawyers Program went t large firm, Baker Botts; mid-size firms, Beirne, Maynard & Parsons and Strasburger & Price; small firm, Connelly “Baker “Maston “Wotring “Jackson; and corporate law department, Anadarko Petroleum Corp. Also, Fulbright & Jaworski received an award for longevity of exemplary service to the program; Lan Nguyen of Shortt & Nguyen for contribution by an individual; and Thomas J. Brandt of Shell Oil’s legal department for outstanding service by a law firm/corporation pro bono coordinator. The foundation named John W. Kelly Jr., former general counsel for SBC Texas and AT&T Texas, Volunteer of the Year for the Dispute Resolution Center and Kevin J. White of Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld as author of the outstanding legal article published during 2006 in The Houston Lawyer. ELECTIONS . . . The following have been installed as officers of the Houston Bar Foundation for 2007: Karl S. Stern, Vinson & Elkins, chairman; Gwen E. Richard, Law Office of Gwen E. Richard, vice chair; and Martin D. Beirne, Beirne, Maynard & Parsons, treasurer. New directors for 2007-2009 are Jack S. Balagia Jr., Exxon Mobil Corp.; Stewart W. Gagnon, Fulbright & Jaworski; and Jarvis V. Hollingsworth, Bracewell & Giuliani. Completing terms as directors for 2006-2008 are Debra Baker, Connelly “Baker “Maston “Wotring “Jackson; Sonya Hill Bishop, ConocoPhillips; and Charles R. Parker, Locke Liddell & Sapp. . . . Jay Rutherford, a partner in the labor and employment section of Jackson Walker in Fort Worth, was elected chairman of the Texas Association of Business for 2007.

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Advance® Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]

Reprints & Licensing
Mentioned in a Law.com story?

License our industry-leading legal content to extend your thought leadership and build your brand.


ALM Legal Publication Newsletters

Sign Up Today and Never Miss Another Story.

As part of your digital membership, you can sign up for an unlimited number of a wide range of complimentary newsletters. Visit your My Account page to make your selections. Get the timely legal news and critical analysis you cannot afford to miss. Tailored just for you. In your inbox. Every day.

Copyright © 2021 ALM Media Properties, LLC. All Rights Reserved.