Thank you for sharing!

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

About 700 attorneys turned out to celebrate The American Lawyer magazine’s 25th anniversary Wednesday at a gala dinner held at Cipriani New York.

Hosted by Editor in Chief Aric Press, the event was an occasion for the magazine to present Lifetime Achievement Awards to a dozen lawyers who have made a lasting mark on the profession.

Awards were also given to The American Lawyer’s A List, 20 firms whose economic, pro bono, workplace and diversity performance stand out among their peers.

The magazine, an affiliate of the New York Law Journal, also acknowledged the firms that won its Litigation Departments of the Year contest.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards were received by William T. Coleman Jr. of O’Melveny & Myers; Lloyd N. Cutler and John H. Pickering of Wilmer Cutler Pickering; Joseph H. Flom of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom; Alexander D. Forger of Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy; Newton N. Minow and Howard J. Trienens of Sidley Austin Brown & Wood; Robert D. Raven of Morrison & Foerster; John M. Rosenberg of the Appalachian Research and Defense Fund of Kentucky, Inc.; Frederick A.O. Schwarz Jr. of Cravath, Swaine & Moore; Robert S. Strauss of Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld; and Patricia Wald, retired chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit.

The firms named to the A List of 2003 were Davis Polk & Wardwell; Debevoise & Plimpton; Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison; Arnold & Porter; Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton; Latham & Watkins; Cravath, Swaine & Moore; Sullivan & Cromwell; Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom; Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler; Wilmer Cutler Pickering; Heller Ehrman White & McAuliffe; Hale and Dorr; Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson; Covington & Burling; Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Bingham McCutchen; Jenner & Block; Weil, Gotshal & Manges; and Willkie Farr & Gallagher.

O’Melveny & Myers was honored as having the litigation department of the year for 2003. Other awards for litigation departments went to: Robins, Kaplan Miller & Ciresi for intellectual property; Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker for labor and employment; Jones Day for products liability; and Herbert Smith in the United Kingdom.

This content has been archived. It is available exclusively through our partner LexisNexis®.

To view this content, please continue to Lexis Advance®.

Not a Lexis Advance® Subscriber? Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® is now the exclusive third party online distributor of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® customers will be able to access and use ALM's content by subscribing to the LexisNexis® services via Lexis Advance®. This includes content from the National Law Journal®, The American Lawyer®, Law Technology News®, The New York Law Journal® and Corporate Counsel®, as well as ALM's other newspapers, directories, legal treatises, published and unpublished court opinions, and other sources of legal information.

ALM's content plays a significant role in your work and research, and now through this alliance LexisNexis® will bring you access to an even more comprehensive collection of legal content.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]


ALM Legal Publication Newsletters

Sign Up Today and Never Miss Another Story.

As part of your digital membership, you can sign up for an unlimited number of a wide range of complimentary newsletters. Visit your My Account page to make your selections. Get the timely legal news and critical analysis you cannot afford to miss. Tailored just for you. In your inbox. Every day.

Copyright © 2020 ALM Media Properties, LLC. All Rights Reserved.