If Michigan legislators want to change voting laws, they’ll have to do it at the ballot box, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit said last week about a lawsuit challenging term limits.

In November 2019, bipartisan and former members of the Michigan legislature—Mike Kowall, Roger Kahn, Scott Dianda, Clark Harder, Joseph Haveman, David Nathan, Paul Opsommer, Douglas Space, Mark Meadows, and Mary Valentine—filed a federal lawsuit against Michigan Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson, claiming term limits unconstitutionally barred them from running for offices they previously held.

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]