The Philadelphia Trial Lawyers Association is accepting nominations for both officer and board of director appointments for 2013-14 and for this year’s Justice Michael A. Musmanno Award.

For appointment nominations, you can submit your name or that of a fellow trial lawyer by February 22. Your nomination must be in writing and sent to Patricia M. Patterson, executive director of PTLA, 121 South Broad St., Suite 600, Philadelphia, or

Enclose a curriculum vitae or brief resume. Final nominations will be made in May and voted on at the PTLA annual meeting, which is scheduled for June 12.

All members of the bar are invited to submit award nominations to the PTLA by February 22.


Scott J. Endlein joined Capehart Scatchard‘s workers’ compensation department in its Mt. Laurel, N.J., office.

Endlein represents insurance carriers and employers in the defense of workers’ compensation claims.


The Philadelphia Association of Defense Counsel is scheduled to hold a luncheon CLE program at noon February 19 at the Philadelphia Racquet Club.

"A Primer on Employment Law Practice" is set to be presented by Carla Maresca of Deasey, Mahoney, Valentini & North and John Romeo of Gibbons P.C.

The price is $45 for PADC members and $90 for others. Lunch is included. For more information, call 800-734-0737.

Elected and Appointed

Don Foster, a principal in the Philadelphia office of Offit Kurman, was elected to serve as the chairman of the firm’s business litigation practice group.

Brian J. McCormick Jr. of Sheller P.C. was appointed by Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter to the independent Philadelphia Board of Ethics.

Robert T. Egan of Archer & Greiner was elected chair of the firm’s commercial litigation practice group and Ellis I. Medoway was elected vice chair of the litigation department.

Egan’s commercial litigation practice has an emphasis on representing clients involved in technology sectors.

Medoway’s litigation practice specializes in insurance coverage, construction, commercial and professional negligence. •