Jay Barry Harris, Lee Applebaum and Jennifer Tatum Root of Fineman, Krekstein & Harris co-authored the chapter “Trucker’s and Motor Carrier’s Commercial Vehicle Insurance” for the 2012 edition of New Appleman on Insurance Law.

The 150-page chapter covers such topics as the regulatory environment governing motor-vehicle insurance requirements, detailed treatment of the MCS-90, interaction with state and municipal governments, the scope of coverage under the most common forms of insurance in the trucking industry, judicial interpretation of policy language and policy exclusions.


The St. Thomas More Society of Philadelphia invites all to attend the 61st annual Red Mass at 5:15 p.m. October 29 in the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul at 18th Street and Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia.

The celebrant will be Archbishop Charles J. Chaput. The Red Mass is offered for the legal profession at the beginning of the judicial year to ask the Holy Spirit for guidance, strength and hope.

Immediately following the Red Mass is the St. Thomas More Award Dinner, honoring Superior Court Judge James J. Fitzgerald III at the Union League, 140 S. Broad St., Philadelphia.

Inquiries can be sent to or visit

Elected and Appointed

Raymond G. Truitt, a real estate attorney and managing partner of finance and operations at Ballard Spahr, was named co-chair of the International Council of Shopping Centers‘ 2013 U.S. Law Conference.

Truitt is responsible for helping organize the conference, which will be hosted in San Diego, along with conference co-chair Linda K. Schear, general counsel at Gregory Greenfield & Associates in Atlanta.

Truitt focuses his practice on commercial real estate financing, leasing, development and restructuring.


Allan H. Gordon joined ADR Options.

After 40-plus years of active trial practice, Gordon is now using his experience as a mediator/arbitrator through ADR Options.

He is a past chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association, a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, a fellow of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers, a fellow of the International Society of Barristers and a fellow of the American Board of Trial Advocates. •