From the Editor

Several months ago, Texas Lawyer again invited firms across the state to tell us what makes their litigation departments the best.

This year, our Litigation Departments of the Year award has two distinct categories: one for the top department in general litigation and one for the top specialty litigation practice groups. We also have included a lifetime achievement award for an individual who has made his or her mark on Texas litigation. The award was open to any law firm in Texas or litigation groups led by Texas attorneys.

The general litigation award was categorized by firm size: small, midsize and large. The specialty litigation practice groups were: energy, insurance, intellectual property, labor and employment, and securities.

In determining the winners, we asked law firms to share with us any big victories and important cases that occurred in 2013 that demonstrate why clients choose them when litigation is on the table. The work submitted was done in Texas, throughout the rest of the country and abroad. The key, though, was that it was led by Texas lawyers, showcasing the talented litigators in the Lone Star State. It goes without saying that we had difficult decisions to make, as it was a truly competitive field.

I hope the profiles that follow convey what, in our opinion, make these firms merit the distinctions awarded them.

Heather D. Nevitt

General Litigation (Large)

Winner: Locke Lord

Finalist: Morgan Lewis & Bockius

General Litigation (Midsize)

Winner: Gibbs & Bruns

Finalist: Susman Godfrey

Finalist: Beirne, Maynard & Parsons

General Litigation (Small)

Winner: Legge, Farrow, Kimmitt, McGrath & Brown

Intellectual Property:

McKool Smith


Gardere Wynne Sewell


Baker Botts

Labor and Employment:

Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart


Fish & Richardson

Lifetime Achiever:

Joe Jamail