NYSBA 2014 annual meeting at the Hilton Midtown
NYSBA 2014 annual meeting at the Hilton Midtown (NYLJ/Rick Kopstein)

Following is a list of the awards presented or announced by the New York State Bar Association during the group’s annual meeting Jan. 27-31 at the Hilton New York.

Gold Medal

Louis Craco, Craco & Ellsworth, Huntington

Committee on Diversity

Trailblazer Award: Darryl Gibbs, general counsel, AXA Equitable Life Insurance Co.

Committee on Attorneys in Public Service

Excellence In Public Service Award: Victoria Graffeo, associate judge, state Court of Appeals

Committee on Women in the Law

Kay Crawford Murray Award: Connie Walker, Rochester

Ruth G. Schapiro Award: Kathleen Donelli, McCarthy Fingar, White Plains

Business Law Section and Corporate Counsel Section

David Caplan Award for Meritorious Service: David Glass, Moses & Singer

Commercial and Federal Litigation Section

Stanley H. Fuld Award for Outstanding Contributions to Commercial Law and Litigation: Shira Scheindlin, U.S. district judge, Southern District of New York

Young Lawyers Section

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award: Muhammad Usman Faridi, Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler,

Torts, Insurance and Compensation Law Section and Trial Lawyers Section

Honoree: Victoria Graffeo, associate judge, state Court of Appeals

Law, Youth and Citizenship Committee

Distinguished Service Award: Jeremy Cohen, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel,

International Section

Distinction In International Affairs Award: Fiona Sampson, Equality Effect, Toronto

Criminal Justice Section

Charles F. Crimi Memorial Award: Paul Shechtman, Zuckerman Spaeder

Outstanding Contribution-Correctional Services: Jason Effman, associate commissioner, New York State Department of Corrections and Community Service

Outstanding Contribution—Criminal Justice: Lee Zeldin, state senator, Shirley

Outstanding Contribution—Criminal Law Education: Anthony J. Colleluori, Syosset

Outstanding Police Contribution in the Criminal Justice System: Philip Banks III, chief, New York Police Department

Outstanding Prosecutor: Frank Sedita III, Erie County district attorney

Michele S. Maxian Award for Outstanding Public Defense Practitioner: Jessica Goldthwaite, Legal Aid Society, Brooklyn

Vincent E. Doyle Jr. Award for Outstanding Judicial Contribution in the Criminal Justice System: Barry Kamins, Supreme Court justice, Brooklyn

Antitrust Law Section

William T. Lifland Service Award: Jay L. Himes, Labaton Sucharow

Public Service Award: Eleanor Fox, professor, New York University School of Law

Dispute Resolution Section

Honorees: Judith Kaye, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, and Edna Sussman for work with the New York International Arbitration Center

Judicial Section

Distinguished Jurist Award: Judith Kaye, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

Conference of Bar Leaders

Bar Leaders Innovation Awards:

• Brooklyn Bar Association
• Asian-American Bar Association of New York
• Network of Bar Leaders