New Positions

. . . Mark K. Sales has joined Diamond McCarthy in Dallas. He practices complex commercial litigation with a focus on probate, trust and fiduciary duty matters.

. . . JD Holzheauser has joined Ford Nassen & Baldwin as an associate in Austin. He represents contractors, subcontractors, suppliers, owners and developers in construction matters.

. . . David Seidler, a mediator and an arbitrator, has joined Shannon, Gracey, Ratliff & Miller as a partner in Fort Worth. Christian Ellis has joined the firm’s Fort Worth office as a partner in the construction practice group. Lisa A. Songy has been named administrative partner in the firm’s Dallas office.

. . . Ryan Loveless has joined Carter Scholer Arnett Hamada & Mockler in Dallas as a partner, and Linda Stahl has joined the firm as senior counsel.

. . . Trey Martinez-Fischer, a litigator and member of the Texas House of Representatives, has joined Husch Blackwell as a partner in Austin.


. . .John G. Browning, a partner in Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith in Dallas, has been named winner of the 2014 Burton Award for Distinguished Achievement in Legal Writing for his article “Keep Your Friends Close and Your Enemies Closer: Walking the Ethical Tightrope in the Use of Social Media,” published in the St. Mary’s Journal of Legal Malpractice and Ethics in 2013.

. . . Hillary H. Holmes, a corporate partner in Baker Botts in Houston, has been named recipient of the 2014 Woodrow B. Seals Outstanding Young Lawyer Award by the Houston Young Lawyers Association.

. . . Christopher L. Graff, a member of Pirkey Barber in Austin, is the winner of the 2014 International Law Office Client Choice Award in the trademark category of intellectual property.

. . . Ron Chapman Jr., a Dallas shareholder in Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, received two Client Choice Awards from ILO. In the employment and labor category, he was overall winner for the United States and the exclusive winner for Texas.

. . . Wallace Jefferson, former Texas Supreme Court chief justice and now a partner in Alexander Dubose Jefferson & Townsend in Austin, has been named recipient of the 2014 Chief Justice Jack Pope Professionalism Award by the Texas Center for Legal Ethics.

. . . Barbara Ellis, of counsel at Locke Lord in Austin, has received the 2014 Pro Bono Award from the Travis County Women Lawyers’ Association and the Travis County Women Lawyers’ Foundation.


. . . The following have become Texas Bar Foundation fellows: Kelly W. Decker, a shareholder in Decker, Jones, McMackin, McClane, Hall & Bates in Fort Worth; Greenberg Traurig Dallas shareholder Jordan W. Cowman, Austin shareholder Kendyl T. Hanks and Houston associate Pamela A. Ferguson; and Barry R. Knight, a shareholder in Winstead in Dallas.

. . .Jean C. Frizzell, a partner in Reynolds Frizzell Black Doyle Allen & Oldham in Houston, has become a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

. . .John B. Board, judge of the 181st District Court, and Mark S. Logsdon, a partner in Mullin Hoard Brown in Amarillo, have been honored by resolutions passed by the State Bar of Texas. Board was instrumental in creating a regional drug court program covering Armstrong, Potter and Randall counties. Among other things, Logsdon is actively involved with the Amarillo Bar Association and Foundation’s Trial Academy.