This year’s list of Women Leaders in Tech Law includes 28 women from large and boutique law firms, 19 from in-house departments at some of the region’s most-watched companies, a pair of academics, and one government official.

The honorees were chosen by editors of The Recorder based on their recent accomplishments and because they’ve demonstrated the ability to lead. These are the women who lead litigation and deals; who lead in-house teams and firm practice groups; who are thought leaders; and who lead the way for other women seeking roles in the region’s most dynamic sector.

This year’s honorees are:

Sally Abel, Fenwick & West

Valerie Alabanza-Cary, Juniper Networks

Annette Hurst, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe

Ashlie Beringer, Facebook

Jillisa Bronfman, Verizon

Marcia Chang, Hewlett-Packard

Alica Del Valle, SanDisk

Robin Feldman, Hastings College of the Law

Jennifer Fonner Fitchen, Cooley

Diane Holt Frankle, Kaye Scholer

Kathryn Fritz, Fenwick & West

Anirma Gupta, Intuit

Lisa Harrington, NBCUniversal Media

Judith Hasko, Latham & Watkins

Cynthia Hess, Fenwick & West

Gabrielle Higgins, Ropes & Gray

Mary Huser, BlackBerry

Barb Izzo, Intel Capital

Jan Kang, AOptix

Heidi Keefe, Cooley

Noreen Krall, Apple

Rachel Krevans, Morrison & Foerster

Victoria Lee, DLA Piper

Michelle Lee, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

Allison Leopold Tilley, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

Monique Liburd, Google

Cecily Mak, Flipboard

Julie Mar-Spinola, Finjan Holdings

Victoria Maroulis, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan

Stewart McDowell, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

Salima Merani, Knobbe Martens Olson & Bear

Catharina Min, Reed Smith

Laura Norris, Santa Clara University School of Law

Leah Poynter, Cisco Systems

Sasha Rao, Bingham McCutchen

Michelle Ravn Appelqvist, SanDisk

Rosemarie Ring, Munger Tolles & Olson

Annie Rogaski, HIPLegal

Jane Ross, Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Laura Seigle, Irell & Manella

Stefani Shanberg, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Dominique Shelton, Alston & Bird

Stephanie Skaff, Farella Braun + Martel

Joyce Smith, Baker & McKenzie

Allison Spinner, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Quyen Ta, Keker & Van Nest

Emily Ward, eBay

Hilary Ware, Netflix

Bobbie Wilson, Perkins Coie

Mallun Yen, RPX

The honorees will be profiled in a special section Sept. 22, and recognized at an awards reception Sept. 23 at the JW Marriott in San Francisco.