Three populous and trend-setting states—New Jersey, New York and California—recently enacted new laws that provide a vast window of opportunity for complainants to bring otherwise time-barred claims of sexual assault, abuse or harassment.

New Jersey’s legislation, effective Dec. 1, extends broader rights to individuals seeking to bring claims of sexual assault, harassment or abuse against organizations. Complainants bringing such claims will now have a two-year window in which to file a complaint. Under the new law, victims of child sexual abuse may bring claims against individuals and public or private institutions until they reach age 55, or up to seven years after discovering the abuse. The New Jersey law also voids all private agreements that settle class claims of sexual abuse, requiring employers to address such claims individually.

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Advance® Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]