As part of our annual Litigation Department of the Year awards, Texas Lawyer invited firms across the state to tell us about the great work their litigation department did this past year.

Our Litigation Departments of the Year award has two distinct categories: one for the top department in general litigation and one for the top specialty litigation practice groups. The award was open to any law firm in Texas or litigation groups led by Texas attorneys.

The general litigation award was categorized by firm size: small, midsize and large. The specialty litigation practice groups were: intellectual property, product liability, energy, labor and employment, environmental and immigration.

In determining the winners, we asked law firms to share with us any big victories and important cases that occurred in 2015 that demonstrate why their litigation team should be recognized.

It goes without saying that we have lots of amazing firms in Texas, so we had difficult decisions to make.

Each of the law firms below will be profiled in the November issue of our magazine. Thank you to all the firms that submitted their work for consideration, and congratulations to the firms listed below. An event for the honorees will be held Nov. 1 at the Belo Mansion in Dallas.



Norton Rose Fulbright


Jackson Walker



Beck Redden


Susman Godfrey



Gibbs & Bruns


Rusty Hardin & Associates


Baker Botts


Haynes and Boone


MALDEF—Mexican American Legal
 Defense and Educational Fund

Intellectual Property:

Winston & Strawn

Labor and Employment:

Deats Durst & Owen

Product Liability:

Mostyn Law