As part of our annual Litigation Department of the Year awards, Texas Lawyer invited firms across the state to tell us about the great work their litigation department did this past year.

Our Litigation Departments of the Year award has two distinct categories: one for the top department in general litigation and one for the top specialty litigation practice groups. The award was open to any law firm in Texas or litigation groups led by Texas attorneys.

The general litigation award was categorized by firm size: small, midsize and large. The specialty litigation practice groups were: intellectual property, product liability, energy, labor and employment, environmental and immigration.

In determining the winners, we asked law firms to share with us any big victories and important cases that occurred in 2014 that demonstrate why their litigation team should be recognized. The work submitted may have been done in Texas, throughout the rest of the country or abroad. The key, though, was that it was led by Texas lawyers, showcasing the talented litigators we have here in the Lone Star State.

It goes without saying that we have lots of amazing firms in Texas, so we had difficult decisions to make.

Each of the law firms below will be profiled in our 2015 Litigation Departments of the Year special supplement, which will come out June 1. Thank you to all the firms that submitted their work for consideration, and congratulations to the firms listed below.

An event will be held Oct. 22 to honor the winners.


Haynes and Boone

Sidley Austin


Winner: The Lanier Law Firm

Finalist: Beck Redden


AZA (Ahmad, Zavitsanos, Anaipakos, Alavi & Mensing)

Reid Collins & Tsai

Vinson & Elkins

Jackson Gilmour & Dobbs

Brewer Storefront

Intellectual Property:
Baker Botts

Labor and Employment:
Morgan Lewis & Bockius

Product Liability:
McGinnis Lochridge & Kilgore