Robert A. Jacobson, tax partner, Bracewell & Giuliani, Houston
Robert A. Jacobson, tax partner, Bracewell & Giuliani, Houston (Gittings)

New Positions

. . . Robert A. Jacobson, a tax attorney, has joined Bracewell & Giuliani in Houston as a partner.

. . . New associates in the Dallas office of McGuireWoods are Nam Huynh, Aaron James Pickell, Joel Bannister, Amy Jeanette Childers, Meadow Clendenin, Adam Edris, Courtney Mitchell, J. Ryan Mitchelland Cedric Powell.

. . . Stephen C. Porter has been named general counsel for Mortgage Contracting Services in Plano.

. . . Kathryn “Kadie” Michaelis has joined Winstead in Dallas as an associate with the finance and banking practice group. Alyssa Kahn has joined the firm as an associate with the corporate, securities, and mergers and acquisitions practice group in Austin.

. . . Mark Davis has joined Holland & Knight as a partner in Austin, while John Wright and Russell Parish have joined as senior counsel in Austin. They all join the energy and clean technology team.

. . . Julie Mayo, a partner in Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman in Houston, has been appointed coleader of the industry team for energy.


. . . Lee Hamilton, judge of the 104th District Court in Abilene, has been appointed by the Texas Supreme Court as chairman of the new Judicial Branch Certification Commission. Other commission appointees announced by the court are Garland “Ben” Woodward, judge of the 119th District Court in Tom Green, Runnels and Concho counties; Migdalia Lopez, judge of the 197th District Court in Brownsville; Sid L. Harle, judge of the 226th District Court in San Antonio; PollySpencer, judge of the Bexar County Probate Court No. 1 in San Antonio; Don D. Ford, managing partner of Ford + Bergner in Houston; Mark Blenden, a partner in Blenden Roth Law Firm in Bedford; and Murray Moore, assistant criminal district attorney in the Hidalgo County Criminal District Attorney’s Office.


. . .Robert A. “Bob” Black, managing shareholder of Mehaffy Weber in Beaumont and Houston, has been inducted as a Texas Legal Legend by the State Bar of Texas Litigation Section.


. . .Robin Russell, managing partner of Andrews Kurth’s Houston office and cochair of the firm’s national bankruptcy practice, received the Louise B. Raggio Award from the State Bar of Texas Women and the Law Section.

. . .Tom Melsheimer, managing principal of Fish & Richardson’s Dallas office, has been named the 2014 Trial Lawyer of the Year by the Dallas Bar Association.

. . .Michael K. Hurst, a partner in Gruber Hurst Johansen Hail Shank in Dallas, has received the 2014 Outstanding Mentor Award from the Texas Association of Young Lawyers and the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers.

. . . The Houston Bar Association has received the Outstanding Partnership Award from the State Bar of Texas for 25 years of work with the Greater Houston Area Special Olympics. The HBA also received from the state bar group the Star Achievement Award for its Constitution Day celebration, while HBA’s Volunteer Lawyers Program earned the Pro Bono Award.

. . .L. Edward Ackels III, a member of Ackels & Ackels in Dallas, was honored with the Volunteer of the Year Award from Dallas Urban Debate Alliance.

. . .Kem Frost, chief justice of the Fourteenth Court of Appeals, was given the Judge Merrill Hartman Pro Bono Award from the State Bar of Texas.


. . .John Ellis, an associate with Locke Lord in Austin, has been elected to the Texas Young Lawyers Association board of directors.