New Positions

. . . Jonathan R. Childers, Trey H. Crawford and Michael J. Lang have been promoted to partners in Gruber Hurst Johansen Hail Shank in Dallas.

. . . Barbara S. de Marigny has joined McGuire Woods in Houston as a partner in the firm’s tax practice.

. . . Michelle Schulz and Elsa Manzanares have joined Gardere Wynne Sewell in Dallas as partners, and Kate Purdom has joined the firm as an associate. All three are international trade attorneys.

. . . Courtney Cochran Butler, Alison L. Chen, Courtney E. Ervin, Giji M. John, Callie A. Parker and Alexander D. White have been elected partners in Andrews Kurth’s Houston office. Will S. Becker has been named a partner in Dallas, and Meghan E. Griffiths has been named a partner in Austin. The partnerships are effective Jan. 1, 2014.

. . . Kevin Terrazas, a trial and appellate attorney, has joined Weisbart Springer Hayes in the firm’s Austin office.

. . . Lawrence J. McNamara has joined FordHarrison as a partner in the firm’s Dallas office.

. . . Ryan Bangert, Josh Mandell and Christa Brown-Sanford have been named partners in Baker Botts’ Dallas office. Mollie Duckworth, Joseph Gray and Evan Young have been named partners in Austin, and A.J. Ericksen, Chad McCormick, Brooke McNabb, Jason Newman and Anthony Speier have been named partners in Houston. The partnerships are effective Jan. 1, 2014.

. . . Niko Lorentzatos has been named executive vice president and general counsel at Oasis Petroleum Inc. in Houston.


. . . Orlinda L. Naranjo, judge of Austin’s 419th District Court, has been appointed to the State Commission on Judicial Conduct by the Texas Supreme Court.


. . . Lorie Burch, founder of the Law Office of Lorie L. Burch in Dallas, has been elected national president of the American Business Women’s Association.


. . . Locke Lord received the 2013 Pro Bono Leadership Award from Texas Appleseed in recognition of the firm’s research leading to passage of the Michael Morton Act, a new state law requiring prosecutors to turn over all evidence to defense attorneys in criminal cases. Stephen Susman and Lee Godfrey, partners in Susman Godfrey, received the annual J. Chrys Dougherty Good Apple Award for their pro bono legal work and commitment to justice.

. . . Jason Varnado and Kristine Rollinson, assistant U.S. attorneys for the Southern District of Texas, and Gregg Costa, former U.S. attorney and now a judge of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District, are recipients of the John Marshall Award for Trial Litigation. They were recognized along with other attorneys for the successful prosecution of Allen Stanford.


. . . Charlie Florsheim, a partner in Cantey Hanger in Fort Worth, has been selected for the 2014 Leading Edge Class, a six-month program of Leadership Fort Worth.