New Positions

. . . Marisa Y. Ybarra has joined Ray, McChristian & Jeans as an associate in El Paso. She is a trial lawyer.

. . . Angela T. Pacheco has become a partner in Standly Hamilton in Dallas.

. . . Alexis L. Angell has become an associate with the health-care litigation practice in Polsinelli’s Dallas office.

. . . Lindsey Marsh has joined Wick Phillips in Dallas as an associate with the complex commercial litigation group.

. . . John Low, an associate with McDermott Will & Emery in Houston, will become a partner in the firm, effective Jan. 1, 2014. He focuses on intellectual property litigation.

. . . Amy Moss has joined Chamberlain, Hrdlicka, White, Williams & Aughtry as an equity shareholder in its Houston-based business practice.

. . . Derek Carson has joined Cantey Hanger in Fort Worth as an associate and will practice with the firm’s general litigation section.

. . . Celeste R. Yeager has joined Littler Mendelson as a shareholder in the firm’s Dallas office.

. . . Monica Cruz has rejoined the Dallas office of McCurley Orsinger McCurley Nelson & Downing as an associate.


. . . Bob Black, managing shareholder of MehaffyWeber in Beaumont, has been appointed by the Texas Supreme Court to the Board of Disciplinary Appeals.

. . . Joe Escobedo Jr., a partner in Escobedo, Tippit & Cardenas in McAllen, has been appointed to the Advisory Council of the University of Texas-Pan American College of Behavorial and Social Sciences.


. . . Robert W. Strauss, a partner in Strausburger & Price in Dallas, has been elected chairman of the Dallas Area Rapid Transit board of directors.

. . . Peter M. Kelly, a partner in the Houston office of Kelly, Durham & Pittard, has been installed as president of the Houston Trial Lawyers Association. Dax F. Garza, of Dax F. Garza PC in Houston and Corpus Christi, has been elected president-elect, and Annie McAdams of Steelman & McAdams in Houston has been elected secretary-treasurer.

. . . Pamela M. Giblin, a partner in Baker Botts in Austin, has been elected president-elect of the American College of Environmental Lawyers.


. . . Victor D. Vital, a litigation shareholder in the Dallas office of Greenberg Traurig, and Benny Agosto Jr., a partner in Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Sorrels, Agosto & Friend in Houston, have been named recipients of the inaugural Peter Perlman Service Award by the Litigation Counsel of America.