Several months ago, Texas Lawyer invited firms across the state to tell us what makes their litigation departments the best.

Following the example set by Texas Lawyer affiliate The American Lawyer’s Litigation Departments of the Year, we wanted to create the same type of publication but keep the focus on Texas attorneys.

Our Litigation Departments of the Year award has two distinct categories: one for the top department in general litigation and one for the top specialty-litigation practice groups. The award was open to any law firm in Texas or litigation groups led by Texas attorneys.

The general litigation award was categorized by firm size: small, midsize and large. The specialty-litigation practice groups were: intellectual property, mass tort, insurance, energy, labor and employment, and immigration.

In determining the winners, we asked law firms to share with us any big victories and important cases that demonstrate why clients choose them when litigation is on the table. The work submitted was done in Texas and throughout the rest of the country and abroad. The key, though, was that it was led by Texas lawyers, showcasing the talented litigators in the Lone Star State. We had difficult decisions to make in each category as we chose our winners, as it was a truly competitive field.

Each of the firms below will be profiled in our Litigation Departments of the Year supplement, which is scheduled for publication on August 19. Thank you to all the firms that submitted their work for the publication.

An event will be held Oct. 17 to honor the winners.

General Litigation (Large)
Winner: Jackson Walker
Finalist: Locke Lord

General Litigation (Midsize)
Winner: Yetter Coleman
Finalist: Fish & Richardson

General Litigation (Small)
Winner: Reese Gordon Marketos
Finalist: Wright & Close

Intellectual Property
Winner: Baker Botts

Mass Tort
Winner: Brent Coon & Associates

Winner: Walters Balido & Crain

Winner: Vinson & Elkins

Labor & Employment
Winner: Haynes and Boone

Winner: DeMott, McChesney, Curtright & Armendáriz (DMCA)