New Positions

. . . Nancy Furney, a Winstead shareholder in Dallas, has been named to the firm’s board of directors. Greg Erwin has been appointed as managing shareholder in Winstead’s Houston office. The following have new leadership positions in Winstead: Dallas shareholder Eli Columbus, chairman, business restructuring/bankruptcy practice group; Austin shareholder Peyton Smith, chairman, labor, employment and immigration practice group; Austin shareholder Al Axe, chairman, regulatory and environmental practice group; Austin shareholder James Ruiz, practice leader, commercial litigation, Austin and San Antonio; Houston shareholder Yasmin Atasi, practice group leader, commercial litigation, Houston, The Woodlands and New Orleans; and Fort Worth shareholder Jeff King, leader, energy practice group. The following have becomes shareholders in the firm: Daniel M. Martinez, public finance, San Antonio; Tracey S. Bailey, real estate finance, Dallas; Matt Ferris, business restructuring/bankruptcy, Dallas; Bradley R. Geier, finance and banking, Dallas; Jeanne Katz, real estate development and investments, Dallas; Kristen L. Sherwin, construction/commercial litigation, Dallas; Brian Vanderwoude, commercial and real estate litigation, Dallas; Stephen R. Voelker, real estate finance and real estate development and investments, Dallas; Brannon C. Dillard, commercial litigation, Houston; Rebecca Rentz, energy and environmental law, Houston; Paige Ingram Castaneda, corporate, securities and mergers and acquisitions, Austin; and Nick Pyka, real estate finance, Austin.

. . . Kelly D. Hine and I. Bobby Majumder have joined the Dallas office of Perkins Coie as partners.

. . . Annette L. Tripp, a banking and mergers and acquisitions lawyer, has joined Thompson & Knight as a partner in Houston.

. . . Ron Kirk, former U.S. Trade Representative, has joined Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher as a senior of counsel in Dallas and Washington, D.C.

. . . Jason E. Williams has joined Siegmyer, Oshman & Bissinger in Houston as a partner.

. . . Thomas S. Hoekstra has joined Hay Compere in Austin as of counsel.


. . . Brooke Geren McNabb, senior associate with Baker Botts in Houston, has been elected 2013-2014 president-election of the Houston Association of Women Attorneys board of directors.

. . . Carlyle H. Chapman Jr., a partner in Locke Lord in Dallas, has been elected to a three-year term as trustee on the Foundation of the American Board of Trial Advocates, and the trustees elected him as secretary of the board.


. . . Mike Baggett, Winstead’s chairman emeritus and a shareholder in the Dallas office, was awarded the Dallas Bar Foundation’s Fellows Award for 2013.

. . . Joseph P. Griffith, a Dallas associate with Greenberg Traurig, has been named recipient of the Bob Black Bar Leaders Award by the Texas Tech University School of Law Alumni Association.

. . . Michael T. Murphy, a Houston associate with Vinson & Elkins, has been chosen by his firm to be a member of the 2013 class Leadership Council on Legal Diversity Fellows.

. . . Burnet County has received the Texas Gideon Recognition from the Texas Indigent Defense Commission for the county’s commitment to improving its indigent defense system.