New Positions

. . . Amparo Y. Guerra has joined Winstead in Houston as of counsel in the commercial litigation practice group. Kenneth L. Anderson has joined as an associate with the finance and banking practice group. David W. Jackson has joined the firm in The Woodlands as an associate with the taxation and employee benefits and private business practice.

. . . Andrew Ostapko has joined Hiersche, Hayward, Drakeley and Urbach in Addison as an associate.

. . . Antonio Allen and Matthew Neill have joined Cantey Hanger in Fort Worth as associates. Allen will focus his practice on labor and employment law, Neill on litigation.

. . . Allison E. Moore and Alex L. Longoria have joined Branscomb in Corpus Christi as associates. Moore is in the litigation group, and Longoria is in the tax and estate planning groups.


. . . The Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program (DVAP), a joint program of the Dallas Bar Association and Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas, has given the following awards: The Lisa Blue & Fred Baron Access to Justice Award to KoonsFuller; Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year to John O’Connor, associate with Weil, Gotshal & Manges; Pro Bono Firm of the Year to Fulbright & Jaworski; Hartman Judicial Pro Bono Service Award to 302nd District Judge Tena Callahan; Outstanding New Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year to Dan Nathan; Gold Award for Pro Bono Service to Baker Botts, Bracewell & Giuliani, Haynes and Boone, and Patton Boggs; Silver Award for Pro Bono Service to Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, The Bassett Firm, Jones Day, and Weil, Gotshal & Manges; Bronze Award for Pro Bono Service to American Airlines Inc., Andrews Kurth, Locke Lord, and Vinson & Elkins; Pro Bono Coordinator of the Year to Kendall Hayden, member in Cozen O’Connor; Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer — West Dallas to Russ Hubbard, counsel at American Airlines Inc.; Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer — Garland to L. Brad Johnson of L. Brad Johnson PLLC; Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer — South to Lisa Shirley, associate with Simon Greenstone Panatier Bartlett; Outstanding Veterans Clinic Volunteer to Chris Attig of Attig Law Firm; Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer — East Dallas to Justin Conner, senior associate with Fulbright & Jaworski; Outstanding In-House Volunteer to Ilene Breitbarth; Lois Bacon Special Services Award to Dallas Association of Young Lawyers Elder Law Committee; Pro Bono Appreciation Award to Paul K. Stafford, founding principal in Carter Stafford Arnett Hamada & Mockler; and Outstanding Outreach Clinic Attorney to Craig Collins.

. . . Louis Pirkey, founding partner of Pirkey Barber in Austin, has received the 2012 President’s Award from the International Trademark Association.


. . . The Dallas Bar Association has elected the following: Scott McElhaney of Jackson Walker, president-elect; Brad Weber of Locke Lord, first vice-president; and Jerry Alexander of Passman & Jones, second vice-president. Paul K. Stafford of Carter Stafford Arnett Hamada & Mockler will serve as immediate past president. Sally Crawford of Jones Day will serve as president in 2013.


. . . Laura Gibson, a founding partner in Ogden, Gibson, Broocks, Longoria & Hall in Houston, has been named a Woman on the Move 2012 by Texas Executive Women.

. . . Julie H. Quaid, a partner in Quaid & Quaid in Dallas, was named to the board of directors of Texas Loves Children. Christopher M. Farish, an associate with the firm in Dallas, was named a member of the boards of directors of the Collin County Bar Association, the Family Law Section of the Dallas Bar Association, the International Academy of Collaborative Professionals and the Legacy Court Foundation.