. . . Neeraj “Neil” Verma, an associate with Greenberg Traurig in Houston, has been recognized as one of the 50 Outstanding Asian Americans in Business by the Asian American Business Development Center.

. . . Marshall B. Miller Jr., a partner in Jackson Walker, has been named to the board of trustees of Washington and Lee University.

. . . The State Bar of Texas has honored the following: Kenneth C. Raney Jr., Presidents’ Award and a Presidential Citation; Bill Kroger, Presidential Citation and Certificate of Merit; Beverly Godbey, Brian Webb, Sandra French Clark, Tim Belton, Alistair Dawson, Travis J. Sales, Pablo Almaguer and Tom Vick, Presidential Citation; David C. Courreges, Nancy L. Garms Memorial Award; Austin Bar Association, Award of Merit and Outstanding Partnership Award; Dallas Bar Association, Star of Achievement and Award of Merit; Denton County Bar Association, Star of Achievement Award and Outstanding Partnership Award; Hidalgo County Bar Association, Star of Achievement; Houston Bar Association, Star of Achievement and Outstanding Partnership Award; Jefferson County Bar Association, Presidential Citation, Star of Achievement, Outstanding Partnership Award and Award of Merit; and Smith County Bar Association, Award of Merit.

. . . The State Bar of Texas Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee has honored the following: Julie Balovich and Mickey Baden, J. Chrys Dougherty Legal Services Award; Justice Phylis Speedlin, Judge Merrill Hartman Pro Bono Judge Award; Human Rights Initiative’s William O. Holston Jr. Pro Bono Program (HRI), Pro Bono Award; and Patton Boggs, W. Frank Newton Award.

. . . The Texas Young Lawyers Association has honored the following: Lacy L. Durham, Joseph M. Pritchard Inn Outstanding Director Award; Judge Martin J. Hoffman, Outstanding Mentor Award; Karen C. Denney, Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award; Brooke Ulrickson Allen, President’s Award; and Victor Villarreal, Outstanding First Year Director.

. . . The Texas Bar Foundation has honored the following: John L. Estes, E. William “Bill” Barnett, Harry M. Reasoner, Judge Ewing Werlein Jr. and George H. Spencer Sr., Outstanding 50-Year Lawyer Award; John G. Browning, Outstanding Law Review Article; Steve McConnico, Ronald D. Secrest Outstanding Trial Lawyer Award; Judge Lee Yeakel, Samuel Pessarra Outstanding Jurist Award; David Keltner, Gregory S. Coleman Outstanding Appellate Lawyer; Fred Hagans, Lola Wright Foundation Award; and Kelly Frels, Dan Rugeley Price Memorial Award.

. . . Rebekah Steely Brooker, Kenneth C. Riney, Dustin M. Howell, Tammy T. Fisher, Wendy Humphrey, Priscilla D. Camacho and Sam Houston have received the Texas Young Lawyers Association President’s Award of Merit.

. . . The following State Bar of Texas sections have presented awards: African-American Lawyers Section, E. Steve Bolden and Lisa M. Tatum,Drum Major for Justice Award, Rhonda Hunter, Chief Justice Wallace B. Jefferson Trailblazer Award, and Lydia Clay Jackson, Outstanding Achievement Award; Alternative Dispute Resolution Section, John C. Fleming and Lionel M. Schooler, Justice Frank G. Evans Award; Antitrust & Business Litigation Section, Gary McGowan, Distinguished Counselor Award; Asian Pacific Interest Section, Gordon Quan, Justice David Wellington Chew Award; Bankruptcy Law Section, Mark E. Andrews and Thomas “Tom” Rice, Robert B. Wilson Distinguished Service Award, Layla D. Milligan, Romina L. Mulloy-Bossio Achievement Award, Thomas “Tom” Black, Pro Bono Service Award, Judge John C. Akard, Banco Rotto Award, Judge Richard S. Schmidt, Outstanding Service Award, and Judge Bill G. Parker, John C. Akard Community Service Award; Criminal Justice Section, Buck Files, Lifetime Achievement Award; Government Law Section, Scott N. Houston, Outstanding Government Lawyer; Hispanic Issues Section, The Texas Civil Rights Project (Director Jim Harrington), Pete Torres Jr. Community Service Award, and Judge Berta A. Mejia, Reynaldo G. Garza Lifetime Achievement Award; Intellectual Property Law Section, Ted D. Lee, Chair’s Award — Award of Merit; Litigation Section, Kim Askew, Luther H. Soules Outstanding Service to the Practice of Law; LGBT Section, Connie Moore, Judge Norman W. Black Award; Poverty Law Section, Roger L. Gette, Noble Award for Lifetime Achievements in Poverty Law, and Julie Balovich, Beth Mitchell and Karen Miller, Impact Award in Poverty Law; Real Estate, Probate & Trust Law Section, Kent H. McMahan, Distinguished Texas Probate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award, and Phillip D. Weller, Distinguished Texas Real Estate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award; Taxation Section, Emily Parker, Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer, and Charles W. Hall, Texas Tax Legend Award; and Women and the Law Section, Anne Chandler, Ma’at Justice Award, and Patricia Diaz Dennis, Sarah T. Hughes Award.

. . . The Dallas Bar Association’s Headnotes received the Best Overall Newsletter Award and several Star of Achievement Awards for outstanding articles, including Vincent J. Allen, best human interest article; Alicia Hernandez, best news article and best series of general interest articles; Tamera H. Bennett, Sally C. Helppie and Danica Mathes, best series of substantive legal articles; and Mary Louise Hopson, best feature story.

Subscribers can read more Newsmakers online. ?Go to www.texaslawyer.com and click on “Newsmakers.”

To submit “Newsmakers,” ?email amcmillan@alm.com.

Related stories