As a home health provider in small-town Texas, Maria Cervantes and her children live on just $400 per month.
She found herself in a hard spot when she was charged with driving while intoxicated in Kinney County. Though she wanted to accept a plea agreement before the court allowed her to plead guilty and start her probation, she’d have to scrape up $897 — more than two months’ income — to pre-pay her fine and court costs. It meant taking on debt from loans from family and friends.
This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.
To view this content, please continue to their sites.
LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.
For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]