judge-and-gavelTwenty-seven Supreme Court justices who want to remain on the bench after the mandatory retirement age of 70 have been approved for two-year terms by the Administrative Office of the Courts.

Under Judiciary Law §115, a judge who reaches age 70 is allowed to seek a two-year term three times before retiring at age 76. No one was turned down this year, said Lucian Chalfen, director of public information.For a judge to be certificated, it must be determined that he or she has the mental and physical capacity to perform the duties of the office and that his services are necessary to expedite the business of the Supreme Court.

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Advance® Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]