The 49 lawyers included on this list are those that we decided—after a rigorous evaluation process—are emblematic of a new wave of leadership in the New Jersey legal profession.

Our basic criteria for selection of these standout lawyers are that they have developed practice niches, amassed strong books of business, demonstrated leadership qualities, shown expertise in litigation or transactional work and committed themselves to pro bono, charitable and professional volunteer work. All these factors tend to distinguish an individual among his or her peers and signal greater accomplishments ahead.

The following 49 attorneys have been selected as the 2014 New Leaders of the Bar:

• Alexis M. Aloi, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney

• Richard J. Angowski Jr., Schwartz Simon Edelstein & Celso

• Matthew E. Beck, Wolff & Samson

• George Benaur, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney

• Mary W. Browning, Cole Schotz Meisel Forman & Leonard

• Alychia L. Buchan, Proskauer Rose

• Christopher J. Capone, Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart

• Michael J. Cohen, Winne Banta Hetherington Basralian & Kahn

• James J. Di Giulio, McElroy Deutsch, Mulvaney & Carpenter

• Matthew C. Dorsi, DiFrancesco Bateman Coley Yospin Kunzman Davis Lehrer & Flaum

• Crystal West Edwards, Schenck Price Smith & King

• Sandra C. Fava, Fox Rothschild

• Harris Neal Feldman, Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis

• Eric D. Frank, Duane Morris

• Michael R. Futterman, McCusker Anselmi Rosen & Carvelli

• Christine I. Gannon, Connell Foley

• Richard Hernandez, McCarter & English

• Sharmila D. Jaipersaud, Schenck Price Smith & King

• Roosevelt Jean, Chasan Leyner & Lamparello

• Robert Johnson, Gibbons P.C.

• Matthew R. Kaplan, Genova Burns Giantomasi Webster

• Laurajane B. Kastner, Sills Cummis & Gross

• Deborah A. Kelly, Coughlin Duffy

• Joshua S. Kincannon, Keefe Bartels

• Ellen S. Knarr, Day Pitney

• Constantina Koulosousas, Mandelbaum Salsburg

• Ursula Henrich Leo, Laddey Clark & Ryan

• Joseph V. Leone, Hoagland Longo Moran Dunst & Doukas

• Jonathan H. Lomurro, Lomurro Davison Eastman & Munoz

• Robert B. McBriar, Schenck Price Smith & King

• Mark Salah Morgan, Day Pitney

• Mark E. Nikolsky, McCarter & English

• Uzoamaka N. Okoye, Gibbons P.C.

• Rajiv D. Parikh, Genova Burns Giantomasi Webster

• Jennifer A. Passannante, Hoagland Longo Moran Dunst & Doukas

• Lori A. Patrick, Coughlin Duffy

• Jacob S. Perskie, Fox Rothschild

• Zahid N. Quraishi, Riker Danzig Scherer Hyland & Perretti

• Adelaide Riggi, Norris McLaughlin & Marcus

• Daniel L. Saperstein, Proskauer Rose

• Alexander X. Saunders, Peckar & Abramson

• Alexander Shalom, American Civil Liberties Union of New Jersey

• Jason C. Spiro, Stone & Magnanini

• Loly G. Tor, K&L Gates

• Benjamin E. Widener, Stark & Stark

• Charles J. Wilkes, Greenbaum Rowe Smith & Davis

• Simone Wilson-Brito, McCarter & English

• Margaret (Peggy) O’Rourke Wood, Wolff & Samson

• Michael C. Zogby, Drinker Biddle & Reath

Full profiles of this year’s honorees will be included in a supplement set to be published in The New Jersey Law Journal on July 28. The winners will also be honored at a celebratory event on Sept. 18 at the Brooklake Country Club in Florham Park, N.J. For more information on the event, contact Douglas Brown at 973-854-2928.

Thank you to all those who took the time to submit nominations and letters of recommendation, and congratulations to all of this year’s honorees!