New Jersey Law Journal Professional Excellence

From a group of impressive (as always) nominations, the Law Journal editorial staff has selected these 2019 Professional Excellence honorees.

We’ll be publishing profiles and Q&As in the coming months about these honorees and their accomplishments.

There’s also the Professional Excellence event scheduled for June. We hope to see you there. For more details, see below.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees.

Attorney of the Year Finalists

Edward Barocas – American Civil Liberties Union-New Jersey

Robin Kay Lord – Law Office of Robin Kay Lord

Stephen Orlofsky – Blank Rome

Lifetime Achievement

John Keefe Sr. – Keefe Law Firm

Alma Saravia – Flaster Greenberg

Dealmakers of the Year

Nicholas Casiello (Fox Rothschild) – Regulatory

George Garcia (Connell Foley) – Real Estate

Jennifer Horowitz (Cole Schotz) – Mergers & Acquisitions

Lori Waldron (Sills Cummis & Gross) – Mergers & Acquisitions


Hyland Levin ShapiroReal Estate

Porzio Bromberg & NewmanBankruptcy

Litigation Departments of the Year

Sills Cummis & GrossGeneral

Gebhardt & KieferInsurance (Small)

Riker Danzig Scherer Hyland & PerrettiInsurance (Midsize)

Pashman Stein Walder HaydenAppellate

Lerner David Littenberg Krumholz & MentlikIntellectual Property

Tanenbaum KealeProducts Liability

Legal Departments of the Year and GC Impact Awards

CelgeneLaw Department Management

Dun & BradstreetPro Bono


Leslie Kaltenbach (Chubb)

Kevin Norman (Johnson & Johnson Innovation)

Brian Quigley (New Jersey Assembly Majority Office)


Andrew Fraser – Laddey Clark & Ryan

Kristine Feher – Greenberg Traurig

April Katz Israeli – Williams Law Group

Charles Kenny – Peckar & Abramson

Thomas Muccifori – Archer & Greiner

Stephen Ravin – Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr

Edward Snyder – Snyder Sarno D’Aniello Maceri & da Costa

Thomas Snyder – Einhorn Harris Ascher Barbarito & Frost

Warren Usatine – Cole Schotz

David White – Seton Hall University School of Law

Unsung Heroes

Rachelle Bin – Fox Rothschild

Emily Goldberg – Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison

William Sullivan – Scarinci Hollenbeck

Julia Walker – Atlantic Health System

Roy Wepner – Lerner David Littenberg Krumholz & Mentlik

New Leaders of the Bar

K. Raja Bhattacharya – Bendit Weinstock

Michelle Burke – Porzio Bromberg

Melinda Colon Cox – Parker Ibrahim & Berg

Danielle Corcione – Chiesa Shahinian & Giantomasi

Kiomeiry Csepes – Csepes Law Offices

Michael Dee – O’Toole Scrivo Fernandez Weiner Van Lieu

Robert DiPisa – Cole Schotz

Christopher Fallon III – Fox Rothschild

Daniel Farino – Archer & Greiner

Jessica Flynn – Greenbaum Rowe Smith & Davis

Ami Foger – Saiber

Gregory Green – Epstein Becker & Green

Jordan Hollander – New Jersey Attorney General’s Office

Jennifer Laver - Weber Gallagher Simpson Stapleton Fires & Newby

Jason Levine – Hangley Aronchick Segal Pudlin & Schiller

Steven Llanes – Lowenstein Sandler

Van McPherson III – South Jersey Industries

Benjamin David Novak – Morgan Lewis & Bockius

Rachel Packer – Parker Ibrahim & Berg

Stephen Pagano – Riker Danzig Scherer Hyland & Perretti

Robert Ransom – Archer & Greiner

Marisa Rauchway Sverdlov – Law Office of Marisa Rauchway Sverdlov

Gregory Reid – Sills Cummis & Gross

Andrew Sayles – Connell Foley

Bisola Taiwo – City of Newark

Megha Thakkar – Hill Wallack

Corinne Trainor – Fox Rothschild

Matthew James Troiano – Einhorn Harris Ascher Barbarito & Frost

Lauren James Weir – Gibbons

Rebecca Zisek – Greenberg Traurig

For more information on the event, please visit the New Jersey Legal Awards site. For information on event tickets and sponsorships, contact: Sales Director Andre Sutton or 757-721-9020.