Appellate Division, Third Department, courthouse in Albany
The Robert Abrams Building for Law & Justice in Albany houses the Court of Claims. ()

The Republican-led state Senate has approved nearly 20 appointments or reappointments to the Court of Claims and interim appointments to the state Supreme Court.

On Monday, the Senate approved the appointment of eight men and women to the Court of Claims, as well as the reappointment of seven Court of Claims judges and three interim appointments to the state Supreme Court.

Among those approved by the Senate are Warren County District Attorney Kathleen Hogan; Gordon Cuffy, the general counsel of the New York Thruway Authority; and former New York City Councilman Peter Vallone Jr., who most recently served as a Civil Court judge in Queens.

Others approved by the Senate were Sanford Neil Berland who runs his own practice; Joseph Risi, a Long Island City solo; Walter Rivera who also runs his own solo firm part time; Carmen Victoria St. George, an associate at plaintiff firm Weitz & Luxenberg; Steven M. Jaeger, who is the principal law clerk to Justice Sharon Gianelli in Nassau County Supreme Court; and Deputy Chief Administrative Judge for New York City Courts Edwina G. Richardson-Mendelson.

Judge John W. Carter, who serves on the New York City Criminal Court; Court of Claims Judge Robert A. Neary and Court of Claims Judge Barry Ostrager also were confirmed as interim Supreme Court judges.

The Senate also approved several reappointments to the Court of Claims, including Donald F. Cerio Jr. of Manlius; Leonard Livote of Douglaston; Martin Marcus of the Bronx; Michael Melkonian of West Sand Lake; Wayne M. Ozzi of Staten Island; and Jeanette Rodriguez-Morick of New York, a former white-collar and antitrust litigator.