ALBANY – A golfer did not have a duty to yell “fore” or otherwise warn players nearby when firing off an errant shot that took out the eye of a playing partner, the state Court of Appeals ruled yesterday.

Injured golfer Azad Anand assumed certain risks by voluntarily playing golf, such as being struck by a ball hit by his friend and fellow doctor Anoop Kapoor, the unanimous Court ruled in Anand v. Kapoor, 222.

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Advance® Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]