President Joe Biden just signed the Respect for Marriage Act (RFMA) into law. A significant piece of legislation for marriage equality, the RFMA repeals the 1996 Defense of Marriage Act while also adding protections for legal marriages in all 50 states. The new legislation provides guidelines for family law practitioners and gives same-sex and interracial couples marriage equality protections.

One main component of the RFMA is the requirement for all states to recognize legal marriages that were performed anywhere in the United States, regardless of state laws where one currently may reside. In this instance, if two people are married in one state and move to another where their marriage is not legal, that marriage must still be recognized. The RFMA adds protection for same-sex and interracial marriages

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]