The New York Law Journal is looking to honor the best and brightest in New York’s legal community.

Those chosen will appear in a special section in the Law Journal, have their stories told online and be honored at an event in Manhattan in October.

We want to hear from lawyers, law firms and litigation departments who have influenced their practice areas in New York and beyond. They should be innovators, developing unique practice niches, employing creative uses of technology, amassing robust books of business, showing expertise in litigation or transactional work, contributing to the improvement of their institutions or committing themselves to pro bono, charitable and professional volunteer work. 

Law firms of all sizes, including solos, are encouraged to apply.

Note about submissions: No more than three attorneys per category can be nominated from any one firm or organization. References to “past year” cover the period between Jan. 1, 2021 and April 1, 2022.

We encourage you to choose a category whose criteria best aligns with the attorney’s work and accomplishments.

The New York Law Journal takes a comprehensive approach to judging and we consider various factors when making decisions, including but not limited to the amount or significance of the issue at stake in the work described; the impact or innovative nature of the work; diversity; practice area; and pro bono work.

The New York Law Journal is committed to diversity and strongly encourages the legal community to highlight and promote their diverse attorneys when considering and preparing submissions.

To apply, please use this link

THE SUBMISSION DEADLINE for all categories is Friday, June 24, 2022.

Rising Stars 

This award recognizes the region’s most promising lawyers who are no older than 40 by the submission deadline. Past honorees are not eligible for an additional award.

We are honoring Rising Stars in the following practice areas this year: General Litigation, Intellectual Property, Products Liability/Mass Torts, Labor and Employment, Insurance, Appellate, Personal Injury, Restructuring/Bankruptcy, Corporate, Other Practice Area

Distinguished Leaders

This award recognizes attorneys in leadership roles who achieved impressive results in the past year. Strong leaders are hard to come by, and we want to highlight lawyers who had great performances while demonstrating clear leadership skills leading to positive outcomes. Past honorees are not eligible for an additional award.

Innovation Awards: Firms

This award recognizes creative and inspiring approaches and forward-thinking firms and individuals.

Firms: This award seeks to honor law firms that push the envelope to build their businesses.

Innovation Awards: Individuals

This award recognizes creative and inspiring approaches and forward-thinking firms and individuals.

Individuals: This award seeks to honor innovative efforts by individual lawyers and legal professionals.

Lifetime Achievement

This award honors an attorney’s accomplishments and impact on the legal community and the practice of law over an entire career.

Attorney of the Year

This “MVP” award goes to the lawyer who had the most profound effect on the law or legal community in the past year or did the most to advance the cause of justice. Three finalists will be recognized; the winner will be announced at a recognition event in October.

Litigation Department of the Year

This contest has two distinct sections: the top department in general litigation, and the top specialty practice departments. The competition is open to any law firm with a New York presence; New York lawyers must have had a significant impact on the work being presented, though the work can extend beyond New York. 

General Litigation

Specialty Practice: Real Estate, Finance, Intellectual Property, Products Liability/Mass Torts, Labor and Employment, Insurance, Professional Liability, Class Action

In-House Impact

This contest recognizes outstanding work performed by general counsel and in-house legal departments.

Dealmakers of the Year

While New York boasts excellent litigators, it is also home to talented and hardworking transactional lawyers. Submit an essay (up to 500 words) nominating a practitioner or group in corporate, M&A, real estate, bankruptcy or another transactional practice explaining how that practitioner or group achieved excellence in the past year.

Diversity Initiative

Do you know a lawyer who has made a significant contribution to diversity and inclusion efforts in New York’s legal community? This is a new category this year and awards will be presented to individuals that have made important progress. Please submit an essay no longer than 500 words detailing why an individual should deserve this award.

If you have questions, please contact Pearl Wu, Recognition Desk Manager, at [email protected]