New York State Court System Chief Judge Janet DiFiore and Chief Administrative Judge Lawrence K. Marks jointly announced Wednesday that upstate courts will begin a gradual return to service next week, having met safety benchmarks set by Gov. Andrew Cuomo amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

A return to courthouses, including acceptance of new case filings, will start next week in 30 upstate counties. The process will begin May 18 in the following counties: Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates, Fulton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego and Schoharie. On May 20, court openings will continue in Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties.

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Advance® Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]