A Georgetown University School of Medicine professor and researcher is the newest member of the District of Columbia commission that investigates complaints against local judges and reviews judges for reappointment.

Dr. David Milzman was appointed June 3 to the D.C. Commission on Judicial Disabilities and Tenure. He is one of two non-lawyers to serve on the commission.

It’s been a year and a half since the seven-member commission was at full strength. Milzman was appointed by the D.C. Council, which is responsible for filling one seat. Other members are chosen by the White House, the mayor, the D.C. Bar and the chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia.

Milzman specializes in emergency medicine, according to the commission’s announcement about his appointment. He was not available for comment. He fills a seat that’s been vacant since late 2012, when another doctor, Michael Williams, resigned.

“As a physician, Dr. Milzman will be a great asset to the commission particularly with regard to health issues concerning judges of the District of Columbia courts,” the commission said. Milzman’s term will expire in May 2017.

The commission also announced this month that it is reviewing one retiring D.C. Superior Court judge seeking senior status, Judge Robert Richter, and four senior judges seeking reappointment—D.C. Court of Appeals Judge John Steadman and Superior Court judges Stephen Eilperin, Ronald Wertheim and Peter Wolf.

Richter will retire in October after serving three decades on the bench. Steadman was confirmed the city’s highest local court in 1985. Eilperin was confirmed to Superior Court in 1983, Wertheim was confirmed in 1981 and Wolf was confirmed in 1979.

The commission is accepting public comments on the five judges through Sept. 5.

U.S. District Judge Gladys Kessler chairs the commission. Besides Milzman, the other members are Jeannine Sanford of Bread for the City; Michael Fauntroy, a non-lawyer; former Superior Court Magistrate Judge Joan Goldfrank; William Lightfoot of Koonz, McKenney, Johnson, DePaolis & Lightfoot; and Anthony Pierce of Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld.

Contact Zoe Tillman at ztillman@alm.com. On Twitter: @zoetillman.