Timothy Webster.
Timothy Webster. (File Photo.)

Sidley Austin partner Timothy Webster is the D.C. Bar’s new president-elect, the bar announced Friday.

Webster will serve the required one year as president-elect before taking over as president. The current president-elect, Steptoe & Johnson LLP partner Brigida Benitez, will become president on June 17.

Webster defeated Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher partner Stephen Glover. This was the second year in a row the D.C. Bar nominations committee selected two candidates from large law firms to vie for the bar’s top leadership position.

In an interview Friday, Webster said he was “surprised and very delighted” to learn the results of the election. He said his priorities once he took office including working with Benitez on putting together a new strategic plan for the bar. He also wants to find additional, non-dues-based sources of funding for various bar programs.

That money could come from outside sources—grants, for instance—or thinking “creatively” about how to generate revenue within the bar, such as third-party sponsorships, he said.

Glover will remain on the bar’s board of governors. Webster said he was looking forward to working with Glover, adding that he ran a “great campaign.”

Webster has been at Sidley since 1999. He previously served as a trial attorney in the U.S. Department of Justice environmental enforcement section. From 2004 to 2010, he served pro bono as the bar’s general counsel in addition to his work at Sidley.

Matthew Kaiser of The Kaiser Law Firm was elected secretary. Sarah Shyr of Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott was chosen as the bar’s new treasurer. Both serve one-year terms.

The following lawyers were elected to the bar’s board of governors: Steven Berk of Berk Law; Sara Kropf of the Law Office of Sara Kropf; Annamaria Steward of the University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law; Keiko Takagi of Sughrue Mion; and Benjamin Wilson of Beveridge & Diamond.

All of the newly elected officers will take office during the bar’s awards dinner and annual meeting on June 17.

Updated at 3:54 p.m.

Contact Zoe Tillman at ztillman@alm.com. On Twitter: @zoetillman.