In a year with unprecedented uncertainty and needed flexibility, innovation shone through at the nation’s top corporate legal departments and law firms. We here at ALM and Legaltech News wanted to honor those new ways of thinking, and are set to begin the final judging of the first Legalweek Leaders in Tech Law Awards.

The Legalweek Leaders in Tech Law Awards honor participants in a wide array of categories across in-house, law firm, and technology providers. The shortlist of finalists has been whittled down from a much more extensive longlist by our editorial panel, and everybody listed is very deserving of their position. Our esteemed external judging panel will now be spending the next couple of weeks scrutinizing each entry and choosing the best of the best in each category.

The final winners will be announced during a virtual event at 4 p.m. on July 13, during the final series of the 2021 Legalweek(year) conference. You can register for the ceremony here.

Vendors: Championing Diversity in Tech (Individual)

  • Maureen O’Neill, Consilio
  • Jessica A. Robinson, Casepoint
  • Sophie Ross, FTI Consulting

Vendors: Data Privacy & CyberSecurity

  • Epiq
  • HaystackID
  • RubyLaw

Vendors: Legal Operations

  • Agiloft
  • BlackBoiler
  • Epiq
  • Onit and BT
  • Malbek and TIBCO Software 
  • Wolters Kluwer’s ELM Solutions

Vendors: Litigation & Discovery

  • CourtScribes
  • Epiq
  • HaystackID
  • LexisNexis

Vendors: Practice Management

  • AbacusNext
  • Alt Legal
  • Consilio
  • Frontline Managed Services
  • SmartAdvocate
  • Suited
  • XIRA

Vendors: Research & Data Science

  • Epiq, Automated Video and Audio Transcription
  • LexisNexis, Lexis+
  • LexisNexis, Market Standards in Practical Guidance
  • Wolters Kluwer Legal & Regulatory U.S., Cheetah
  • Wolters Kluwer Legal & Regulatory U.S., M&A Deals on RBsourceFilings

Law Firm: Access to Justice (Courts)

  • Davidson County General Sessions Court, Division VIII
  • Morrison & Foerster

Law Firm: Championing Diversity in Tech

  • Jill McWhirter, King & Spalding
  • Jesse Nevarez, Goodwin Procter
  • Regina Sam Penti, Ropes & Gray
  • Ariana Shaffer, Cooley LLP

Law Firm: Innovations in Diversity and Inclusion

  • Cooley LLP and Google
  • Davis Wright Tremaine, Project W
  • Goodwin Procter, Chime
  • Latham & Watkins, Forage
  • Reed Smith, Racial Equity Task Force

Law Firm: Innovations in Pro Bono

  • Baker McKenzie
  • Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
  • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

Law Firm: Innovators of the Year (Individual)

  • LaDawn Blackett Jones, City Solicitor’s office; The LBJ Group
  • Carmen L. Brun, Eversheds Sutherland (US)
  • David Cohen and Marcin Krieger, Reed Smith
  • Wendy Curtis, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
  • Austin T. Fragomen, Jr., Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy
  • Jonathan Judge, Schiff Hardin
  • Alvin F. Lindsay, Hogan Lovells
  • Miranda Perkins, WilmerHale

Law Firm: Most Innovative Operations Team of the Year

  • Berry Appleman & Leiden (BAL)
  • City of South Fulton Solicitor General’s Office
  • Reed Smith and The Hershey Company

Law Firm: Start-Up Firm / Emerging Company Law Firm of the Year

  • Goodwin Procter
  • King & Spalding
  • NEXT powered by Shulman Rogers

Law Firm: Tech Deal Department of the Year – M&A

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell
  • Goodwin Procter
  • Ropes & Gray

Law Firm: Tech-Enabled Litigation Department of the Year

  • Eversheds Sutherland (US), Lit Tech Working Group
  • Eversheds Sutherland (US), Spoliation Scientist
  • Latham & Watkins
  • Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
  • Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison

In-House: Championing Diversity in Tech

Winner will be revealed at the ceremony

In-House: Innovations in Diversity and Inclusion

  • Aflac
  • Asurion
  • NetApp
  • Upwork Legal

In-House: Innovations in Pro Bono

  • Toyota Motor North America and Toyota Motor Credit Corporation
  • U.S. Bank

In-House: Innovators of the Year (Individual)

  • Chris Davis, U.S. Bank
  • Nicole Linda Kelsey, Amyris
  • Linda Luperchio, The Hanover Insurance Group
  • Matti Neustadt-Storie, NetApp
  • Farrah Pepper, Marsh & McLennan
  • Beatrice Zdrodowski, Ungerboeck Systems International

In-House: Most Innovative Legal Department of the Year

  • Citi
  • DocuSign
  • Juniper Networks
  • NetApp Legal
  • Upwork Legal, Environmental, Social and Governance Program
  • Upwork Legal, Legal Team Microsites
  • Upwork Legal, Privacy Program Automation
  • U.S. Bank

In-House: Most Innovative Operations Team of the Year

  • NetApp
  • New York City Law Department (NYCLAW)


© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.