Niederer Kraft Frey, winner of the M&A team of the year prize for large deals at the Transatlantic Legal Awards 2018

The nominations process for this year’s Transatlantic Legal Awards has opened, with lawyers on both sides of the pond encouraged to put forward deserving contenders.

Last year, Kirkland & Ellis and Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom were among the big winners at the awards – which are jointly hosted by Legal Week and The American Lawyer – with Kirkland named Transatlantic Law Firm of the Year and Skadden taking home three awards.

Skadden co-head of global transactions Scott Simpson was named Transatlantic Law Firm Leader of the Year, while the US firm also took home the awards in the antitrust and tax categories.

The awards, which are judged by a panel of senior editors and reporters from the US and the UK, aim to identify the law firms, lawyers and in-house legal departments leading the way in the world’s two largest and most fiercely competitive legal markets.

There are 22 categories in total, including two in-house awards – Transatlantic Legal Department of the Year and Transatlantic General Counsel of the Year, which last year went to Credit Suisse’s Paul Lanois.

This year’s ceremony will be held on Thursday 13 June at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower in London’s Belgravia.

The deadline for entries is 7 March – click here to submit your nomination

For sponsorship information, please contact