The European Commission has adopted new rules for drones, to harmonise regulations across the 28 members of the EU and improve certainty for business.

The rules require drone operators to register with national authorities by 2020. Member states will be able to define no-fly zones where drones will not be allowed to enter. These can include airports, airfields or city centres.