The great and the good of the UK legal profession were out in force at the British Legal Awards last month, which this year made its debut in London’s Finsbury Square.

Thirty awards in all were handed out, with new categories this year reflecting a broader focus on the work done by corporate legal departments, as well as an expansion in the number of practice areas covered by team awards.

The judging panel, which was chaired by City of London Law Society chairman Alasdair Douglas, featured a heavyweight line-up of senior lawyers including GCs from companies including BAE Systems, Aviva, HSBC, Barclays, Virgin Media, Telefonica and EE, as well as Dame Janet Gaymer, chair of the House of Commons management board.

The host for the evening was comedian, writer and Peep Show star David Mitchell, while the chosen charity for the awards was Mind, which aims to ensure that those with mental health problems always have somewhere to turn for advice and support. To learn more about Mind’s work or offer support, please contact: [email protected]

Click on the links below to find out who came out on top

Supplier of the Year

Best Use of Technology

CSR/Diversity Initiative of the Year

Chambers of the Year

Specialist Law Firm of the Year

General Counsel of the Year

Legal Week Intelligence Client Partner of the Year

European Law Firm of the Year

Editor’s Award

Private Client Team of the Year

TMT Team of the Year

Commercial Team of the Year

Competition Team of the Year

Regulatory and Investigations Team of the Year

Litigation and Dispute Resolution Team of the Year

Energy and Infrastructure Team of the Year

Property Team of the Year

Restructuring Team of the Year

Banking and Finance Team of the Year

Private Equity Team of the Year

M&A Team of the Year (Medium-Sized Deal)

M&A Team of the Year (Large Deal)

Legal Department of the Year (TMT)

Legal Department of the Year (Commerce and Industry)

Legal Department of the Year (Financial Services)

Legal Services Innovation Award

London Office of the Year

UK Law Firm of the Year

Law Firm of the Year

City of London Law Society Lifetime Achievement Award