Thank you for sharing!

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

Status of the Classification System

Summary: One important factor in determining the premises liability of a landowner to those who are injured on his property is knowing the landowner’s duty and his relationship to the injured party. Under the traditional classification system, the injured party would fall into one of three categories: licensee, invitee, or trespasser. The following list is a brief state-by-state overview of the status of the traditional classification system.

Alabama: Retains traditional classification system. McMullan v. Butler , 346 So.2d 950 (Ala. 1977).

Alaska: Abolished traditional classification system. Webb v. City and Borough of Sitka , 561 P.2d 731. (Alaska 1977).

This premium content is locked for
Insurance Coverage Law Center subscribers only.

Start a free trial to enjoy unlimited access to the single source of objective legal analysis, practical insights, and news for the insurance industry.

  • Access the most current expert analysis and daily developments across jurisdictions
  • Solve complex research issues with expert tools and intelligence
  • Tap into insurance coverage expert guidance

Already have an account?
For enterprise-wide or corporate access, please contact our Sales Department at 1-800-543-0874 or email [email protected].

ICLC Staff Writer


Copyright © 2021 ALM Media Properties, LLC. All Rights Reserved.