In early August, Corporate Counsel announced the 2017 list of Transformative Leaders—those women general counsel who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and business acumen as they have guided their organizations through often treacherous roads to achieve success. These Transformative Leadership honorees stand out because they are business strategists, complex problem-solvers, and of course, great lawyers. And as important (especially to them) is that they are great people-leaders—they care more about the success of the team than their individual success. 

On Oct. 10, we announced the winners at the Omni Shoreham in Washington, D.C., during the Women, Influence & Power in Law conference (WIPL). In-depth profiles of the winners will be published in the January issue of Corporate Counsel. 

Congratulations again to all these amazing women.  

Banking & Finance

  • Claudia Politanski, Head of People, Legal & Corporate Affairs
  • Louise Pentland, Chief Business Affairs & Legal Officer, Paypal
  • Sandie Okoro, General Counsel, World Bank


  • Tina Rhodes, General Counsel Western Europe, Willis Towers Watson
  • Audrey Boone Tillman, Chief Legal Officer, Aflac
  • Helen Browne, Group General Counsel, AXA

 Transport & Infrastructure

  • Janet McCarthy, General Counsel, Santa Fe Relo Services
  • Suzanne Rich Folsom, Group General Counsel, US Steel
  • Sophie Gelbert, Group General Counsel, Air France

 Manufacturing & Chemicals

  • Julie McPherson, Group General Counsel, ,Amcor
  • Stephanie Fougou, Group General Counsel, Vallourec
  • Katja Tautscher, Group General Counsel, Borealis

 Pharma & Healthcare

  • Marianne Short, Group General Counsel, United Healthcare Group
  • Winnie Bugel, Group General Counsel, Chr Hansen Holdings A/S
  • Karen Linehan, Group General Counsel, Sanofi

 Technology, Media & Telecom

  • Kim Rivera, Group General Counsel, HP
  • Lori Schechter, General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer, McKesson
  • Amy Olli, General Counsel, VMWare

 Retail & Consumer Goods

  • Deborah Majoras, Chief Legal Officer, Procter & Gamble
  • Siobhan Moriarty, Group General Counsel, Diageo
  • Karen Roberts, Group General Counsel, Walmart

 Innovative Leaders

  • Maria Varsellona, Group General Counsel. Nokia
  • Claudia Toussaint, Group General Counsel, Xylem
  • Lisa Haimovitz, Group General Counsel, ICL Group

 Thought Leadership

  • Juliana Marra, General Counsel, Zurich Argentina
  • Aminata Kake, Group General Counsel, Befimmo
  • Suzanne Rich Folsom, Group General Counsel, US Steel

 Collaborative Leadership

  • Marcy Cohen, Managing Director and Chief Legal Officer, Americas, ING Holdings
  • Carmel Mulhern, Group General Counsel, Head of Corporate Affairs, Telstra
  • Amy Olli, General Counsel of VMWare (formerly GC of Avaya)

Transformative Leadership Awards

  • Clare Wardle, Group General Counsel, Coca-Cola Enterprise Partners
  • Mitsuru Claire Chino, Group General Counsel, Itochu Corporation
  • Sandi Okoro, Group General Counsel, World Bank
  • Rena Reiss, Executive VP, General Counsel and Secretary, Hyatt Hotel Corporation

 General Counsel of the Year

  • Kelly Mahon Tullier, Group General Counsel, Visa
  • Ria Sanz, Group General Counsel, Anglogold Ashanti
  • Janice Block, Group General Counsel, Kaplan

Lifetime Achievement

  • Edith Shih, Board Secretary, CK Hutchinson
  • Amanda Harkness, Former Group General Counsel and Board Secretary, ASX
  • Nina MacPherson, Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and Head of Legal Affairs