In just a few days, InsideCounsel will continue its tradition of honoring individuals committed to promoting diversity in the corporate legal profession through the Transformative Leadership Awards (TLA). The TLA East Awards take place Tuesday, April 16, in New York City. As this year’s winners prepare to accept their awards, InsideCounsel caught up with them to learn more about what the TLA program and its awards mean to them.

Learn more about each of this year’s winners and awards on the following pages.

 Candace Beinecke

Candace Beinecke, chair of Hughes Hubbard & Reed

Roderick Palmore Pathmaker Award

“I’ve been the beneficiary of those who champion diversity for my entire career. I was fortunate to land at Hughes Hubbard, a firm that valued diversity since its inception 125 years ago–long before it was measured or even accepted. I’m enormously grateful and thrilled to be able to continue this tradition.”

The Roderick Palmore Pathmaker Award is presented to a law firm managing partner, law firm senior leader or senior law department leader whose courage, unyielding vision, integrity, conviction and authenticity has carved a groundbreaking path and laid a new foundation to accelerate the economic empowerment of attorneys of color or women.

 Debra Kuper 

Debra Kuper, vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary of AGCO Corp.

Pamela L. Carter Award

“The Pamela L. Carter award to me confirms that lawyers, who just happen to be business people like myself, can be an inspiration to women in other areas of the business. Having got a late start in my career, it has been my mission to promote and advocate excellence in women throughout the business world by showing them that it is never too late to have a positive impact and become a leader in their company and the industry as a whole.”

The Pamela L. Carter Award recognizes a women whose unyielding vision, core values and philosophy of using her achievements as inspiration are critical to her roadmap for success. Pamela L. Carter was general counsel at Cummins Inc. before becoming president of the Cummins Distribution Business.

Read an exclusive interview with Debra Kuper about her career as well as information about her legal department’s recent IC10 Award.

 Sara Moss 

Sara Moss, executive vice president and general counsel, Estee Lauder Inc.

Anastasia D. Kelly Award

“I am honored to receive this award because it recognizes my commitment to help other women to become leaders and achieve their dreams. “

The Anastasia D. Kelly Award honors a general counsel who has manifested a sustained commitment to accelerate the ascendancy of women to senior leadership roles in the law department and beyond. Her unselfish commitment to advancing women has made a significant impact professionally and personally on those she entrusts. Anastasia D. Kelly is the former vice chairman, legal, human resources, corporate communications and corporate affairs at American International Group Inc.

Read an exclusive interview with Sara Moss about career.

 Nina Gussack

Nina Gussack, chair, executive committee at Pepper Hamilton

Rainmaker Award 

“This award reflects what we can achieve when we work together with collaborative colleagues and clients. I have been afforded opportunities to work with terrific clients and I am very grateful for their support and this recognition.”

Presented to a female partner who manages a substantial amount of business exceeding $2.5 million annually, The Rainmaker Award recognizes outstanding business generation efforts and exemplary client service.

 Denise Keane     Elizabeth Papez 

Denise Keane, Executive Vice President & General Counsel, Altria Group, Inc. and Elizabeth Papez, Appellate Litigation Partner, Winston & Strawn

Sharing the Power Award

“Having our efforts recognized in this profession is a great accomplishment.” -Keane 

“This award is a great honor, and the encouraging of diversity is time well spent. It validates that the investments in this organization are important.” -Papez

The Sharing the Power Award is presented jointly to a female general counsel or senior leader in a law department and a female partner at a law firm who have collaborated to increase the economic empowerment of one or more female partners in that firm.

 Sharon Bowen 

Sharon Bowen, partner, Latham & Watkins

Firmwide Policies Award

“This award is an important validation of all that we’ve done and continue to do to create the kind of environment at Latham in which women grow and thrive. It’s also incredible to be recognized with such a strong group of people and organizations who are also finding innovative ways to empower women in the legal profession. I hope we will all borrow liberally from each other!”

The Firmwide Policies Award recognizes a law firm that has made significant strides in advancing women by measuring what matters: the percentage of women on the executive or management committee, equity partnership committee, compensation committees, and the percentage of women who are relationship managers.