Manny Kadre. Melanie Bell

Florida’s U.S. senators have selected the attorneys and businesspeople who will make up the Southern District of Florida’s nominating commission for federal judges.

Coral Gables auto executive Manny Kadre will chair the Judicial Nominating Commission for the Southern District, U.S. Sens. Marco Rubio, R-Florida, and Bill Nelson, D-Florida, announced late Wednesday. Kadre replaces former U.S. Attorney Kendall Coffey, who will remain a member of the JNC.

With a Republican in the White House, Rubio gained the opportunity to select the leadership and most members of Florida’s federal JNC. Earlier this year, Rubio named Lt. Gov. Carlos Lopez-Cantera as statewide chair of the commission, a rare selection of a sitting politician. Republicans named to the Southern District JNC include former state Sen. Ellyn Bogdanoff, Florida Republican Party national committeeman Peter Feaman and former U.S. Attorney Dexter Lehtinen, who served in both the state House and Senate.

The Southern District of Florida has four judicial vacancies, all considered emergencies by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts because of the district’s heavy caseload. The JNC used to be responsible for nominating potential U.S. attorneys, but Rubio announced in May that he and Nelson would suggest candidates directly to the president. At least one Miami attorney, S. Daniel Ponce of Berger Singerman, was selected for the Middle District conference and has now served on all three federal JNC regions in the state. A full list of Florida members can be found on Rubio’s website.

The Southern District JNC members are:

• Chair Manny Kadre, chairman and CEO, MBB Auto LLC, Coral Gables

• Georgina Angones, assistant dean of law development and alumni relations, University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables

• Ellyn Bogdanoff, shareholder, Becker & Poliakoff, Fort Lauderdale

• Reginald Clyne, partner, Quintairos, Prieto, Wood & Boyer, Miami

• Kendall Coffey, partner, Coffey Burlington, Miami

• Vivian de las Cuevas-Diaz, partner, Holland & Knight, Miami

• Renier Diaz de la Portilla, solo practitioner and mediator, Renier Diaz de la Portilla P.A., Miami

• Albert Dotson Jr., partner, Bilzin Sumberg, Miami

• Peter Feaman, president, Peter M. Feaman P.A., Boynton Beach

• Robert Fernandez, partner, Zumpano Castro, Coral Gables

• Daniel Foodman, partner, WNF Law, Miami

• Philip Freidin, partner, Freidin Brown, Miami

• Carey Goodman, mediator, Cudjoe Key

• Anat Hakim, general counsel, WellCare, Tampa

• Jillian Hasner, president and CEO, Take Stock in Children, Miami

• Marilyn Holifield, partner, Holland & Knight, Miami

• Eduardo Lacasa, chief operations officer, Chrysalis Health, Fort Lauderdale

• Ira Leesfield, partner, Leesfield Scolaro, Miami

• Dexter Lehtinen, partner, LSRCF Law, Miami

• David Leibowitz, general counsel, Braman Management Association, Miami

• Richard Lydecker, founding partner, Lydecker Diaz, Miami

• Debbie Maken, author and attorney licensed in Mississippi, West Palm Beach

• Tom Mersch, partner, Kelley Kronenberg, Fort Lauderdale

• Carlos Nunez, partner, WNF Law, Miami

• Thomas Panza, senior partner, Panza, Maurer & Maynard, Fort Lauderdale

• Edward Pozzuoli, president, Tripp Scott, Fort Lauderdale

• David Prather, partner, Clark, Fountain, La Vista, Prather, Keen & Littky-Rubin, West Palm Beach

• Dennis Richard, partner, Richard & Richard, Miami

• Robert Rigal, CEO, Echelon Medical Capital, Boca Raton

• Jon Sale, of counsel, Broad and Cassel, Miami

• Christian Searcy, president and CEO, Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley, West Palm Beach

• Harley Tropin, president, Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton, Coral Gables

• Joanne Urquiola, Joanne R. Urquiola P.A., Miami

• Steve Waserstein, partner, WNF Law, Miami

• Stephen Zack, partner, Boies Schiller Flexner, Miami