The Broward Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission submitted the names of six candidates for Gov. Rick Scott’s consideration to replace Circuit Judge Eileen O’Connor.

The finalists for the seat include Broward County Court Judges John D. Fry and Edward Merrigan Jr.

Merrigan, who served on the criminal bench, was appointed by Gov. Charlie Crist in 2009. Fry was elected in 2010 and presides over civil cases.

Three prosecutors made the cut. From Broward, there are Assistant State Attorneys Anthony Loe and Stephen Zaccor. From Miami-Dade, there is Abbe Rifkin.

The sixth candidate is Daniel Kanner, a partner at the Plantation firm of Bauman, Bauman & Kanner. Kanner is a former prosecutor who does criminal defense work.

O’Connor, 64, retires April 30.