Former Connecticut Attorney General George Jepsen will receive the Connecticut Bar Association’s Distinguished Public Service Award.

The Connecticut Bar Association’s 2019 “Celebrate with the Stars” event will take place Thursday, April 11, from 5:30 to 10 p.m. at the Aqua Turf in Plantsville to honor 14 winners of Bar awards this year. The event will also honor attorneys marking their 50th anniversary of admission to practice in Connecticut.

Awardees this year include Hon. William I. Garfinkel of the U.S. District Court for the District of Connecticut in Bridgeport. Garfinkel will receive the Henry J. Naruk Judiciary Award, in honor of the late Superior Court judge and the first president of the Connecticut Judges Association, honoring substantial contributions to the administration of justice in Connecticut.

Former Connecticut Attorney General George Jepsen will be honored with the Bar’s Distinguished Public Service Award, which has been presented in previous years to consumer advocate Ralph Nader, Coach Jim Calhoun, poet Wally Lamb and jazz legend Dave Brubeck, underscoring outstanding contributions to society.

The Bar will present the John Eldred Shields Professional Service Award to retired Judge Anne C. Dranginis of Pullman & Comley, recognizing outstanding service on behalf of the bar.

This year’s complete list of honorees is as follows:

The Henry J. Naruk Judiciary Award

Hon. William I. Garfinkel, U.S. District Court for the District of Connecticut, Bridgeport

Distinguished Public Service Award

Hon. George C. Jepsen, Former Connecticut Attorney General, Shipman & Goodwin, Hartford

John Eldred Shields Distinguished Professional Service Award

Hon. Anne C. Dranginis, Pullman & Comley, Bridgeport

McLean Tapping Reeve Legal Educator Award

Willajeanne F. McLean, UConn School of Law, Hartford

Edward F. Hennessey Professionalism Award

Mark A. Dubois, Geraghty & Bonnano LLC, New London

Citizen for the Law Award

Pastor AJ Johnson and Cori Mackey, Christian Activities Council, Hartford

Citizen of the Law Award

Krishna R. Patel, Grace Farms Foundation, New Canaan

Charles J. Parker Legal Services Award

Justine C. Rakich-Kelly, The Children’s Law Center of Connecticut, Hartford

Young Lawyers Section Vanguard Award

Melanie P. Dykas, Locke Lord, Hartford

Honorable Anthony V. DeMayo Pro Bono Awards

Rebecca L. Ciota of the Ciota Legal Group in Ridgefield

Jennifer L. Hluska of Prudential Financial in Shelton

Brittany A. Killian of McCarter & English in Hartford

Jane I. Milas of Garcia & Milas PC in New Haven

Stephanie B. Nickse of S.B. Nickse Law Offices in Danbury